A Scandalous Overture Revision Process

So, I entered the Royal Ascot contest a couple months ago, hosted by the RWA chapter, The Beau Monde. I got my scores back a couple weeks ago, and although I didn’t win, I received some valuable feedback from my judges. Both of them enjoyed my writing style and one even said I have a “magical historical voice”! Yay! However, they also unanimously agreed that the conflict just wasn’t strong enough. This wasn’t something I didn’t know (how about that for a double negative??), but I didn’t have enough motivation to change it until now. SO, I am on chapter 6 (which is actually being almost completely written from scratch) and I’m loving the changes. I really think it’s going to be much better and a much stronger conflict.

Leave a Reply

