Biting off more than I can chew…

So, when you don’t have a “real job” (and by real job, I mean real job – what I do at the law firm cannot be considered a real job), it’s easy to get sucked into things, I’ve discovered. With the new year, I got my act together as far as some groups I’d been meaning to join: the PRO division of RWA, my local NYC chapter, Hearts Through History online chapter, a couple of online classes, etc… This might not seem like that big of a deal to some, but to someone who thinks she has all the time in the world, it is. I’ve now volunteered to judge contests, to make/purchase stuff for the Golden Apple Awards (which aren’t until September, but for which I need samples of what I’ve made/found for this weekend’s meeting!), I’ve taken off work to attend a romance reading (which I loved and will attend every month, even though it means taking the first Monday of every month off) – all this and that doesn’t even begin to touch the surface, because DAILY, I’m getting emails from every single Yahoo loop (and I must at least skim all of them to make sure I’m not missing anything important!). Nevermind the ones I was already a part of OR my own critique group for that matter (which is INSANELY busy!). And forget about the fact that I’m trying to finish my 4th WIP, shop my 3rd one around and am looking to revise (yet again) books 1 and 2! Oh, and don’t even THINK about the day to day responsibilities of being a part time housewife! Or what about the new photography hobby-soon-to-be-business Eric and I have embarked upon…no wonder I’m feeling overwhelmed!

How will I do it, you ask? Well, after berating myself this morning for sleeping in until (gasp) 9:30, I came to realize that I cannot and WILL NOT work without a schedule. Even self-imposed scheduling works for me – as long as it’s written down, I’ll do it. If it’s not…forget about it. So, as of tomorrow, I’m back on a schedule. It will hopefully look a little something like this:

7:00 – rise ‘n shine! eat breakfast!
7:30 – Yoga!
8:00 – shower/dress
9:00 – go through emails
9:30 – start writing
10:30 – break for laundry/dishes/etc…
10:45 – write some more
12:00 – LUNCH!
12:30 – go hunting for supplies for the Golden Apple project
2:00 – power nap
2:15 – emails
2:30 – revisions…

Okay…I’m getting tired just looking at that list…and wondering how long I’ll be able to stick to it…and noticing that I still haven’t fit everything in. BUT, I know that if I want that contract, this is what I have to do.

So, how do you organize your life? Is writing your full-time priority, and if not, when/how do you find time to do it? And are you the type to bite off more than you can chew? Or are you smart enough to say “no” when necessary?

4 thoughts on “Biting off more than I can chew…

  1. lydiachase2 says:

    Well, I get up at 7am. Get my son fed, dressed, and off to school. Then I get to work at 8:30a and in between all of the things they pay me to do – I write until 5pm. I come home, make dinner, do the dishes and then write until midnight.

    Then I start all over the next day. πŸ™‚

  2. mistifaeryscrap says:

    You are so funny!! I want a home that dishes and laundry take me fifteen minutes a day!!!!

    I need a schedule to get everything done too!

    I mapped out Monday the same way and got everything done. I didn’t do it the last two days and not as much done!!

    You go girl! You can do it!!

  3. amydetrempe says:

    Schedule????? The only thing I have permanently on my schedule is M-F, 8 – 4:30 and that is my day job. For the evening and weekends, it all depends on if I am doing makeup or costuming for a show. I fit my writing, editing and critting in when I can. Who needs to sleep? πŸ™‚ But, things are about to changes as I start learning more about promoting.

  4. terryspear says:

    Once you sell, then it’s writing another and another and another, promoting like crazy, working the day job, doing the laundry, dishes and yardwork and…sleep? When do you do that?

    Love the picture on your site. πŸ™‚ Looks like a nice place to sit and write. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

