Where the Magic Happens

All right, get your mind out of the gutter! I am NOT talking about the bedroom!

What I am talking about is that one particular spot where suddenly and magically, the ideas begin to flow! The place you go when writer’s block has gotten the better of you.

This post is inspired by the presentation at my local chapter meeting this past Saturday. The presenters, Isabo Kelly and Leanna Renee Hieber informed us that they may be the cleanest authors around because their best ideas tend to come to them while they’re washing their hair! Others say their ideas come while they’re doing dishes – that’s definitely not a magical spot for me!

This topic got me thinking, but for the life of me, I couldn’t pinpoint a specific location. Until today! I was sitting in the chiropractor’s office, waiting for my appointment, and one page into the book I’m reading, my mind started to wander. And it wandered to a magical place that told me exactly what the backstory for my next heroine needed to be. I whipped out my iPhone and flipped to the notes, only to discover that the last time I was in a doctor’s waiting room – a mere 11 days ago for my eye appointment – I had written notes for the major plot twist I’d thought of for the WIP I was working on at the time.

So, in the end, it looks like being a hypochondriac has paid off 🙂

Do you have a place you go to help you break through the barrier of writer’s block?

11 thoughts on “Where the Magic Happens

  1. Cara says:

    Maybe all you really need to do is pick up a boring book or magazine and just pretend you are at the doctor’s office. If this doesn’t work, I highly recommend getting allergy shots. They make you wait for 20 minutes after every shot and you’ll have to go every week. Good luck.

  2. amydetrempe says:

    That is too funny. Usually I am gardening when ideas come to me. It turns into a pain to take the gloves off, type and go back outside. Sometimes I try to remember and keep working, but I don’t always remember. The only problem with the gardening inspiration is that I live in the Midwest and haven’t written a word in over a month. I am hoping spring will change all that.

  3. Kwana says:

    Fun post. The doctors office is a good place for me too. Also the bathtub. I guess I also have the clean gene.

  4. Julie says:

    The last two ideas I had came to me after I took my morning shower and was in a rush to get the kids somehwere. I, of course, got out some paper and scribbled down some notes and was late for what I was really supposed to be doing!

  5. mageela says:

    My spot is on the bus. There is something about being rocked and having the city scene pass by that makes the ideas come to me.

  6. Jolie Brandt says:

    Mine’s not such much a place as it is the company I keep. It’s much easher to focus and escape into my fantasy world if the other option is having to talk to my in-laws.

  7. Amy Love says:

    That is funny!

    My magic spot is the Shower and in bed right before I go to sleep. I come up with some great stuff.

  8. Gail says:

    Great blog! Feel free to take one of my 4 children to the Dr. anytime. Pediatricians take forever!

  9. Sarah Tormey says:

    I love your post! My breakthroughs usually come when I’m in motion, literally. It always happens when I’m running, in a spin class or driving the car. There’s something about movement that inspires me:)

  10. princessjewel78 says:

    Thank you all for stopping by to comment!

    Cara, I’ll forgo the allergy shots, though I might choose that over the dentist, which is the next stop on my tour de docteurs!

    Amy D, I so wish I had gardening capabilities…I don’t *sigh*

    Kwana, great minds… 🙂

    Julie, it’s better to be late than lose an idea!! LOL!

    Mageela, I’m way too distracted on the bus!

    Jolie, hilarious! You know I wish I had that option!

    Amy L, I’m usually way too tired to even THINK at the end of the day…I don’t know how you do it!

    Gail, I would LOVE to take your kids anywhere…your stories indicate they are quite entertaining 🙂

    Sarah, I’m with you on the spinning! Letting my mind wander to my stories is the only way I can get through a class! LOL! I’ve definitely done some good plotting on the bike, though running doesn’t have the same effect, oddly enough!

  11. So if this means you’re going to be doing more visits to the doctor’s… I hope your insurance will cover all the extra visits. 😉

    Or maybe you can just show up and hang out in the waiting room. 🙂

Leave a Reply

