Lady Jane’s Salon: A man’s perspective

So, last night, my darling husband and I attended our 3rd Lady Jane’s Salon event. Every month so far, I’ve done a little recap of the night, but I wanted to try something different this time, so I asked my hubby to join me today and give his perspective on the romantic event.

Hi, honey! Welcome to my blog and congrats on being my first ever interviewee!!

Thanks for having me!

You’re welcome! Thank you!!
Before we talk about Lady Jane’s Salon, why don’t you tell everyone a little bit about you and what you do for a living.

Well…. I grew up in Connecticut, moved to New York City at 17 to pursue opera and musical theater, and met a certain lovely lady on our first day of Manhattan School of Music classes. Almost 12 years later, we are happily married, madly in love and the proud parents of a Russian Blue kitty named Dr. Snuggle.

As far as work, I run a company which specializes in Mac-based computer technology for small businesses. We help business owners save money and improve their workflow with great Mac hardware and software! I love helping a small business owner combine the right tools to achieve goals s/he thought only possible with “big company” technologies.

I’m also in the process of preparing a 45-minute presentation for romance authors about backups, storage and social networking (Facebook, Twitter, etc). So watch out! πŸ™‚

Great! Thanks for sharing!Β 
So, can you describe the “vibe” of Lady Jane’s Salon? Does the romantic feel intimidate you or make you feel like you need to run home and break out the beer and video games?

I have now attended 3 gatherings of Lady Jane’s Salon and think they are great.Β  I would describe the atmosphere as hip, dark, and a little gothic with a very nice drink menu and happy hour. The extra ‘liquid courage’ always helps a little when nestling in for some romantic readings.

The romantic feel is perfect, because any guy worth his salt knows that if the Missus enjoys a romantic evening out, it bodes well for the Mister! While I love beer and video games, this is a great date night out that breaks the mold of the usual dinner/movie, etc. This last gathering was probably the most ‘romantic’ with some excellent passionate readings from the guest speakers. LJS is held on a work-night, but gets out early enough to keep the party going with your date, if desired (and you will.) It also benefits a great cause for charity.

I would definitely only bring your significant other, though – LJS would not pass the “I Love You, Man” standard of a safe man-date.

LOL! Very true!
Let’s talk about Sarah Wendell from Smart Bitches, Trashy Books. She read from her upcoming release “Beyond Heaving Bosoms”. She read a bit from the section about sex mythology and decried the idea of simultaneous orgasms, “first time pain” and recovery time for the hero. I know she had me blushing – what about you? And do you have any rebuttal to her claims?

This brings me back to my statements above about last night being the most ‘passionate’ and the ‘liquid courage’ coming in handy-Β  I was blushing, too.

Sarah’s reading was very funny, and having read a few excellent romance manuscripts (thanks, honey) and published novels as well, I got all of the ‘inside jokes’.Β  A Gentleman Never Tells, but let’s just say I took a little bit of umbrage with the simultaneous O claim.

Recovery is a legitimate concern, and I was rolling laughing with her description of “5..4..3..2..1 – I’m ready again”. A respectable mortal man shouldn’t fall right asleep, but definitely needs a little time and perhaps a fruit smoothie. As a final note, the first time pain is for the horses!
Next up we heard from Alisa Sheckley aka Alisa Kwitney from her newest release, “The Better to Hold You”. Again, there was more talk of penises, and she even hinted that there may be some borderline man/wolf love scenes. Now, I know you’ve jumped into the world of vampires recently (is it okay to say that you’re a Twilight fanatic??), but what’s your feeling on werewolves and inter-special relations?

Twi-hard is a fair description. (Guys – don’t knock it until you’ve tried reading it with your girl on a rainy day in bed!) I really enjoyed the beginning parts of Alisa’s readings. Being a fan of fantasy (Warcraft / Lord of the Rings) and vamp-mance (Twilight, Gardella), I’m always looking for a new twist on an old genre. The elements of a shape-shifting shaman hero, etc, had whet my appetite, but my thirst dried up when the inter-special stuff kicked in. Call me old fashioned!

Haha! Don’t knock it till you’ve tried it, honey! Just kidding, of course! I’m just as old fashioned πŸ™‚

Finally, we had the privilege of hearing Maya Rodale and her British boyfriend read from her latest, The Rogue and the Rival. And, of course, they read a love scene! I have to admit, this one really got me blushing and part of it had to do with having you sitting next to me! What about you? Any blushing that might have been masked in the dimly lit, red-velvet room? And, in light of Sarah’s assessment of sex in romance novels, do you feel Maya’s scene was a true-to-life portrayal of intimacy between a man and woman?

Thank goodness for the delicious, dimly lit, red-velvet room! The venue is a must with this type of material. I think everyone’s temperature rose a little bit during the Rodale reading. It was incredibly well-written, incredibly well-read and nice to see a real life romantic couple performing it together. I loved the slyness of the ‘one kiss’, and found it an extremely true-to-life portrayal of intimacy. I also enjoyed sitting next to you and taking part in -your- enjoyment of the reading. Good times, all around.

Thanks so much for being here and answering these (possibly) embarrassing questions! One last thing – would you mind telling us what you’re reading right now? πŸ™‚

You had to ask, didn’t you? “When Twilight Burns” by Colleen Gleason. It’s awesome!

You’re the best, honey! I can’t thank you enough for taking the time to give us the man’s perspective on last night’s event!

Β 

For more information, visit www.ladyjanesalon.com.

12 thoughts on “Lady Jane’s Salon: A man’s perspective

  1. Santa says:

    I have been trying to make it down to a Lady Jane Salon since the beginning. From what I’ve read it just keeps getting better and better. And what a great idea to share it as a date night with someone you love.

    And if you’re interested in some hot shapeshifting heroes – read Christina Dodd’s paranormal series. Nice. Verra nice.

  2. Kwana says:

    What a wonderful post! Thanks to you for interviewing your wonderful hubby. I love the man’s perspective. A great recap! I hope you don’t mine me sending folks over to read it.

  3. My first stop here on your blog. Kwana tweeted about it and led me here. Bravo to your husband for not only attending all three sessions (and many more future ones?) but also allowing himself to be interviewed here. It’s good to see how he perceived it.

  4. Jolie Brandt says:

    It sounds awesome! Makes me want to schedule a trip to NYC for the next one. πŸ™‚

  5. Maria says:

    Great interview and write up. Congrats to you and hubby.

  6. Lisbeth Eng says:

    Very cute! Nice to hear a man’s POV on romance!

  7. lisekim says:

    A wonderfully wry discussion of what was obviously a wonderful event. I like the way folks of the male persuasion are jumping into the romance pool. I think the genre has a lot to offer for every taste. We’re more than just the heaving bosoms of old! Danger, adventure, and oodles of genres to picque the interest of every sensibility.

    May I ask if you’ve tried erotic romance yet? Definitely a rainy-day kind of read.

  8. You both are so awesome! Thanks for this great recap, it’s so wonderful to get a guy’s perspective! I’ll link to this on my blog recap too! One of these days my Puerto Rican boyfriend (Maya calls hers her English BF, so it’s fair play) will get to be there to see the little coup of a salon we’ve created! See, smart men like you know the value of a good love story! πŸ™‚ Kudos!

    You know, everyone’s going to get so used to the hot stuff my PG rated romance will be quite a shocker when you hear from it in September. πŸ™‚

  9. Sarah Tormey says:

    Great recap! I’m going to send the link to my husband in the hopes that I can talk him into attending the next one with me.

  10. Heather Boyd says:

    Oh my, how do you get a husband like that! My face aches from smiling so much. Wonderful interview – would have loved to have been there except the cost of the flight would have killed me!

  11. I linked in to this blog of yours in writing a general post about Lady Jane’s Salon on my blog.

  12. Marnee says:

    Jerrica, I just read this interview with your DH and I loved it! Your hubby made me smile.

    I would love to make it up to LJS, but with all the mommy things in my life right now, I can’t imagine it’ll be up my alley for a bit longer.

    I love Gleason’s books too! (And of course I love the Twilight books, that’s almost a given). Maybe he’ll like what I’m working on when I’m done…. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

