Facing the TBR Pile!

So, it seems that the more books I collect, the less time I have (or make) to actually read. It’s kind of sad for me, really. I LOVE reading, and that’s why I started writing in the first place. But for some reason, I find it hard to just sit down and crack open a book. Why? Well, there are a couple excuses I have for myself: 1) by the time I get in bed at night, I’m too tired to keep my eyes open, and 2) every time I start reading, I feel guilty that I’m not writing. Of course, the second excuse is a double-edged sword because it’s reading that gets my muse going.

I think back to the early days of my reading career and remember lazy Sundays lying on the couch or sitting on a park bench, devouring the latest chick-lit or Regency addition to my library. Or browsing B&N for the next one I would read (yes, I used to buy my books one at a time, which meant frequent trips to B&N!) Sadly, those days are gone and in some ways, I wish I could get them back. But my Type A personality won’t let me! But now, thanks to Amazon and all the freebies at Nationals, I have about 40 books in the TBR pile. With my average of one book a month, I’ll be done with this pile in 3.33 years!

So, I’m curious, if you’re an author, do you still find or make time to read? Or do you find yourself in a similar position as me? If you’re not an author, are you the type of person who enjoys reading and makes time to do so?

What books are at the top of your TBR pile for when you get around to them?

20 thoughts on “Facing the TBR Pile!

  1. Betty Bolte says:

    Oh, yes, I’m right there with you! Reading is not high on my list of things to do because if I have hours to spend, I’m going to focus on **my** writing not on someone else’s. I don’t have a lot of free time each week anyway, so I don’t want to waste any of it.

    Generally, I end up reading whatever is next on my pile, unless I’m researching something specific — a specific time period like now for a historical story I’m developing. I haven’t counted my stack of books, but would guess it’s upwards of 150 between inheriting books from my fiction-loving MIL who passed away in April coupled with the freebies from Nationals, and the gifts that I’ve been given over the last few years.

    Betty

  2. princessjewel78 says:

    Oh, my goodness, Betty! 150 books on your TBR! You certainly have your work cut out for you! LOL!

  3. Sarah Tormey says:

    I don’t read as much, but I still make as much time as possible. Thankfully I can read pretty fast (I already finished the latest Suzanne Brockmann and it just came out on Tuesday!)

    Up next, the new Eloisa James, followed by Brenda Novak’s latest.

  4. princessjewel78 says:

    You are FAST, Sarah! I’m not a fast reader at all…not because I can’t physically read quickly, but because I’m easily distracted. LOL! My main reading time is on the subway, but I find myself zoning out and people watching a lot. *sigh*

  5. Lydia Dare says:

    You are so right, Jerrica! It is so hard for me to find time to read anymore. I have some authors who are automatic buys for me and I don’t even consider anyone else – so my TBR is not as big as it could be. I don’t have time to look for new voices like I used to. So during downtime or on vacation I’ll try to pour through the ones I have stashed away.

    The best place to read for me – when I’m getting a pedicure. An hour of uninterrupted time when there’s nothing else I can do.

  6. princessjewel78 says:

    Ooh! Great idea, Lydia! I’m going to start getting regular pedis just so I can read! LOL!

  7. Hey Jerrica! Good blog, I think we had a similar conversation a few weeks back in our and you know I really find it hard to turn off the critter. So I’m having a hard time reading for pleasure. I’ve been reading the same book for a week when it used to only take me a day. So sad.

    I miss those days and still hope they’ll come back to me so I can just relax and read. I think I’m going to try the pedi idea as well. That’s always a good way to relax lol.

  8. Lisbeth Eng says:

    Jerrica, I am totally with you on this issue. My pile is getting bigger all the time! I can especially relate to this one: 2) every time I start reading, I feel guilty that I’m not writing. For the last 6 months or so, I’ve been revising and editing an MS which The Wild Rose Press is very interested in. (No contract to date but I think we’re getting close.) If I do get the contract, they’ll be months more of work ahead: more edits, publicity, website, etc. If I don’t get the contract, then researching other publishers will be on my agenda. I have quite a variety in my pile: romances, women’s fiction, non-fiction, etc, etc. I’m going on vacation in Sept and was just today wondering how I would fit in the time to read a travel guide about the country I’m going to visit (Germany). I love to read — it’s my favorite pastime. The last time I read a book was months ago! If you find a solution to this problem, please let me know. In the meantime, you have my sympathies!
    Lis

  9. Amy De Trempe says:

    I could easily read three books a week before I started writing. Now I just can’t find the time. I always have a book with me though, and read whenever there is unexpected down time, but there is less and less of that. I know I have at least 60 books waiting to be read right now, and a list of books I have made note of. I used to take long baths with a good book to escape. I think I need to get back into that habit.

  10. princessjewel78 says:

    Lis, I know what you mean. With the contract, or even the possibility of one, you do have to start thinking about publicity and edits and all that. I used to simply divide my time between reading and writing, but you’re so right…there’s so much more to it now! I will continue to seek out a solution, though, and let you know when I find one 🙂 And good luck with TWRP!!!

  11. princessjewel78 says:

    Oooh, baths are a good idea…I used to do those more often as well. Of course, the idea of cleaning the tub is way too daunting, so I haven’t taken one in forever! (I don’t want people to get the idea that our tub is dirty…I’m just OCD! LOL!)

  12. princessjewel78 says:

    Oh, that’s right, Melissa! We did have this conversation. LOL! Though, I have to say, I’m happy to take off my editing hat when I have time…for me, it’s just finding the time. Here’s to hoping we can all find a way to get our reading groove back! LOL!

  13. Mageela Troche says:

    I have the same problem with my TBR. On the top is Pride and Prejudice and Zombies. I look longingly at it. I just read an article that said reading lowers stress by 68%.
    My TBR pile is growing especially since I have research for my upcoming work. I need to read to lower my stress.

  14. princessjewel78 says:

    Well, that’s great motivation to make time to read, Mageela! I’m thinking I might just have to start scheduling the time, even if it’s just 15 minutes a day!

  15. I also found that as my writing career progressed, it left little time to read. And I sure did miss it. Reading inspires me to write, after all. So, I made it a point in my New Year’s goals to put aside time just for reading. Most of the time I use is on weekend afternoons.

    Right now, I’m reading the Civil War romance anthology, Northern Roses and Southern Belles. I do have a story in that one, but I wanted to read all the others now the book’s finally out in print. Before that, I was reading Susan Grant’s The Warlord’s Daugther. It’s a science fiction romance, another of my favorite genres. And after I finish the last story in the anthology, I’m going to read, The Reincarnationist, by M. J. Rose. My mother-in-law gave me that one, becaues she thought I’d like it.

  16. princessjewel78 says:

    That’s a wonderful New Year’s resolution – one that I think I’ll have to borrow 🙂

  17. Kit Donner says:

    Like many here, I’ve been a reader since “See Dick Run,” and haven’t stopped. But now as an author, I spend more time reading (and enjoying) craft books more than regular fiction. I always find an “a-ha!” moment which will help me with my writing. I try fit in fiction reading whenever I can, but given the choice, I’ll type away on the keyboard. Thanks for your post!

  18. princessjewel78 says:

    Kit, I should probably make more time for craft books. I used to, but those have been pushed to the back burner as well. I did get Janet Evanovich’s How I Write at Nationals, so maybe I’ll crack that open in the near future 🙂

  19. Anna DePalo says:

    Jerrica, you’ve hit on one of my biggest regrets–not having more time to read! Way back in the day, I too had time to savor a good book. Then came marriage, a publishing contract, and (the nail in the coffin! 🙂 ) two kids. I still make time to read a little, but I also skim a lot more. “Free” time is definitely weighted more to writing these days. I think longingly of the day when both kids will be in school fulltime, and I’ll have more time to read!

  20. princessjewel78 says:

    Oh, goodness, Anna! Our first is on the way – I can’t imagine how much “free” time I’ll lose then! LOL!

Leave a Reply

