Inspiration and the Elusive Muse!

On the last page of every edition of Woman’s Day magazine is a page of inspirational quotes by any number of notable figures. In the September 1, 2009 edition, they included a quote by Pablo Picasso that got me thinking. He says, “Inspiration does exist, but it must find you working.”

On my journey as a writer, I’ve gone through many phases, trying to figure out how I work best. One of those phases was “waiting for the muse”, and I have to admit, she never came. No visions, no dreams, no lighting bolts of inspired scenes. There was just a whole lot of waiting, a whole lot of whining that my muse had left me or that I had writer’s block, and a whole lot of blank pages.

So, reading this quote from Picasso really struck a chord with me. The only times I am truly struck with inspiration are the times when I’m working – in some capacity – on my craft. In other words, “inspiration…must find me working.”

What about you? Do you find this quote to be true for you? Or are you lucky enough to get lighting bolts of inspiration out of the blue, even if you’ve been slacking in the writing department?

12 thoughts on “Inspiration and the Elusive Muse!

  1. Santa says:

    No lightening bolts for me. No burning bushes for that matter, either! Like you, I seem to have muses only visiting when I buckle down and work.Picasso may have been onto something.

  2. That’s 2 for Picasso; 0 for the muse! LOL! Thanks for stopping by, Santa!

  3. Kit Donner says:

    I love that quote! It’s so true. While every now and then, a great word or phrase will catch my attention and I’ll say to myself, I must write that down. (I don’t.) My most amazing writing happens while I’m writing.

  4. Okay, 3 for Picasso! 🙂 Thanks for commenting, Kit!

  5. michelle rooney says:

    I definitely have to be working to get inspired – or else in the shower. If only I could write in the shower. Sigh. But then I might get a jolt I don’t care to get. Great post. 🙂

  6. I’ve heard a lot of people say they get inspired in the shower. I don’t know where my mind is while I’m showering, but I don’t think I’ve ever had a good idea in there. Hey! Maybe there’s a waterproof tape recorder you could take in with you!! If not, we should invent one! LOL!

    Thanks for stopping by, Michelle!

  7. Pat Bertram says:

    Nope, no lightning bolts. Just a lot of thinking and planning. But that’s inspiration of a sort. No wait — I mean perspiration!

  8. You can say that again, Pat! Writing is hard work!! 🙂

  9. Kwana says:

    Great quote and very true. It seems the more your wait the harder it is for inspiration to come. the only thing you get is wasted time.

  10. Tanya says:

    I don’t believe in “the muse”. I believe in discipline. It isn’t as obnoxious as it sounds. I alot myself a certain time frame depending on my day, say a 1-2 hr block. I do not get up from my chair (or wherever) until times up. I may write 1 sentence, 1 paragraph, 1 scene, or 1 chapter. Frequently, I hit a groove and I continue. No muse necessary. Most of my “musings” come when I’m running or engaged in some physical activity. I guess a exercise and “discipline are “my muses”.

  11. Great point, Tanya! Physical activity helps so much! As a matter of fact, when I was spinning a lot, the only thing that got me through the classes was brainstorming! LOL! I like your idea of allotting a certain time frame each day, based on your schedule. I need to get better about doing that!

Leave a Reply

