Fall is in the air!

Pumpkin picking in New Jersey!

So, admittedly, this has been a rough summer for me, being preggers and all, but I’ve never been a huge summer fan, anyway. So, when I woke to an overcast 61 degrees this morning, I was jumping for joy! Fall is my absolute favorite time of year, but not only because I love the weather. For me, there is something so wonderful and magical about this time of year. Just the words fall and autumn awake sensorial delights within me: the smell of bonfires on a cool evening, pumpkin bread baking in the oven, jack-o-lanterns flickering in the dark and multi-colored leaves drifting lazily to the ground creating a cushy bed of fun for kids (or the kid in all of us!)

Since the mister and I are grounded this fall due to Baby Bella, we’ve decided to make the most of what the northeast has to offer. Day trips will abound this autumn for pumpkin picking, apple picking, tree gazing, wine tasting (for him, not me), etc… And, of course, there’s our 11th annual Haunted Hayride with all our college friends in the countryside of NJ!!! That’s me at last year’s event with our carefully-chosen pumpkin 🙂

So, what about you? Are you lamenting the end of summer? Or are you like me, anxious for cooler weather and fun fall activities? Do you have any friend or family traditions you do every year?

34 thoughts on “Fall is in the air!

  1. dellanioakes says:

    I’m thrilled it’s fall! Like you, I enjoy the cooler weather – though that’s rather a relative term here in Florida where ‘cool’ is 80 as opposed to 90. I’m also glad the boys are back in school. By mid-July, they were starting to make me a little crazy. By August, I was almost completely crazy. I’ve got a whole batch of ‘silver hairs amidst the gold’ because of it.

    We don’t really have any fall traditions, but I have memories of my childhood filled with the smells of burning leaves and pumpkin pies. These days, the smell of burning is a bad thing, so I don’t relish that scent anymore. However, I have been thinking long and hard about baking a couple pumpkin pies this weekend.

  2. My mouth is watering like crazy, now! I’m thinking a loaf of pumpkin bread is in my very near future! Thanks for stopping by and sharing! And enjoy your downtime while the boys are at school 🙂

  3. Isabel Roman says:

    But I love summer! I miss summer! Warmth! Sun! Long nights! My favorite fall activity? Lots of birthdays in my family, so that’s always fun, and I get to practice my admittedly limited baking skills with new and different children’s cake designs. Going up to the Pocono Mountains for a long weekend, it’s very relaxing. 🙂

  4. We have lots of birthdays in the fall, too, Isabel! I agree, that’s always fun 🙂 And experimenting with children’s cake designs sounds fun! And delicious! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  5. Lydia Dare says:

    I love the changing of the leaves. The pretty red leaves are my favorite.

  6. Dorothy says:

    I LOVE Fall/Autumn. I love the colors and the smell of my favorite season. Actually Fall and Spring are tied as my favorite seasons. Here’s a list of why I love Autumn. Hot apple cider, pumpkins, baked apples w/cinnamon and raisins, the changing colors of trees, jumping into a big pile of leaves, touch football, autumn style and colored clothing, candy corn, caramel apples, Halloween and most of all, falling in love. Even when I wasn’t in a relationship, I fell in love with myself, nature or more in love with the man I was with. But what makes Fall so very special to me is the fact that I met and fell in love with the man of my dreams.

  7. Beatriz Chantrill Williams says:

    Oh, autumn! My favorite season. I love the tingle in the air, the cashmere sweaters brought out from the back of the closet, the kids being back in school. My morning run transforms from a sweaty slog to a frisky engine-rev. And maybe I’m just sick, but I think my favorite thing about autumn at this stage of life is Saturday soccer. My three oldest are now participating, so it’s an all-morning affair with a box of Dunkin’ Donuts munchkins and an extra-large coffee and pretty much everyone I know around town gathered together in the chilly sunshine. Love it!

  8. I love the fall too!! Halloween is an especially precious time of year for me and my family. But i love it all, the cool breeze, the leaves turning in multi-colored splendor, the smell of fire places and back yard cook fires, Ghost stories and smores, leaf piles for jumping and the beauty of the changing seasons, the glory of the earth in it’s fullness. Pumkin pie, apple bread, hot mulled cider ..oh I could go on all day! What’s not to love about Autumn?

  9. Oh, Dorothy! How wonderful! I fell in love with my hubby in the fall, too…actually, I first really started to like him at one of our annual Hayrides in NJ! And the caramel apples staring at me from the cover of the latest issue of Woman’s Day really inspired this article! YUM! Thanks for sharing!!

  10. Okay, Beatriz, that sounds delightful! Obviously, we don’t have kids yet, but maybe we’ll put her in soccer just for the Saturday morning donuts and coffee! Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  11. My thoughts exactly, Crimson! There is nothing NOT to love about Autumn! 🙂 I adore ghost stories and Halloween, myself! Hubby and I always dress up…I don’t think I’ll ever grow out of that! 🙂 Thanks so much for stopping by!

  12. The reds are my favorites, too! 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

  13. melissadawnharte says:

    I have to say Jerrica I could almost taste the apple pie and cider you described. I love summer but I love fall as well. It’s a time of reflection for me, my kids are off at school and it allows more “me” time. I get to focus on what I want, what I need to do and how I need to get there. Summer is great and I love the warm summer nights they’re very sensual but fall is a special time, a sense of family time. And of course Halloween is my favorite holiday and my kids as well, even though they’re getting too old to enjoy it, they humor mom anyway. =)

  14. Oh, I LOVE Fall! I love the cooler weather. I think what I love most is the fairs and carnivals. But Fall has always been my favorite season!

    ~Phyllis~

  15. Melissa, I think all kids go through a “I’m too cool to dress up” phase 🙂 Thanks for commenting!

  16. Ooh, fairs and carnivals! Great idea, Phyllis…i’ll have to find some to enjoy this year! Thanks for stopping by!

  17. Clay says:

    I’ve moved to Miami for grad school, so the interesting thing about Fall for me will be the lack of experiencing it. I’ll be a little nostalgic up until Halloween, but since I’m no fan of Winter, I think Nov-Feb are gonna be good times.

  18. Miami is a great town, Clay! I hope you enjoy it there! And you can always do what I do in the summer if you’re feeling nostalgic: turn the a/c as low at it will go, put on your favorite sweater and a Christmas movie, and cuddle up with hot cocoa and apple pie 🙂 It always tides me over! Thanks for stopping by!

  19. Living in the Poconos, fall tends to come early, but summer was so mild this year, the first frost may arrive with the next dawn.

    Even so, the colors from the kitchen window are awe inspiring. The oven will, again, become a useful tool (once the grill is stowed), and the smells of apples and cinnamon will fill the house. Pumpkin bread is a family favorite too, and the wonderful aromas of clove, cinnamon, and ginger make the mouth water.

    Fall is the lullaby the earth sings ere it sleeps.

  20. JB Kohl says:

    Wow . . . now I’m hungry! And I feel like decorating for Halloween! I’m from Nebraska and fall to me means seeing all the combines in the fields bringing in the harvest. . . there are always hayrack rides, pumpkins at roadside stands, fresh apple cider . . . all the wonderful things you wrote about above. Is it any wonder so many people refer to fall as their favorite season? It holds not only great weather, but the promise of wonderful things ahead for the rest of the year – family, holidays, good food. I’ll smile all day, Jerrica, thanks!!

  21. Eric Catania says:

    Beautiful descriptions! I can’t wait to share all of Fall’s joys with you 🙂

  22. I’m so jealous, Gwynlyn! Perhaps a trip to the Poconos is in order soon! And what a lovely sentiment at the end…just beautiful!

  23. Well said, JB! And I’m so glad I could put a smile on your face 🙂 Enjoy the season!

  24. Thanks, honey! I can’t wait for that either!! 🙂

  25. christinehusom says:

    I love Fall–it is the favorite season for many Minnesotans. We don’t have set traditions, but we love to get out and enjoy the beautiful colors and crisp air. There are a number of apple orchards nearby that have weekend activities, i,e musicians, hay rides, fun!

  26. I just love being in an apple orchard, Christine! Our first time apple picking was so fun and we brought back so many apples that I was eating 5 a day just to make sure none went to waste! Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  27. Summer ends? Not here 😦

  28. Oh no, Claire! I’m sorry 😦 Will you ever get fall or are you in a one-season type of place?

  29. Phoenix. We have hot, hotter, and “why the hell do we live here”?

  30. Oh, Claire! I do not envy you! Hopefully you have a good a/c!

  31. Heather Boyd says:

    LOL this post is so funny for me because Fall (and we dont use that expression either) is nothing like you portray when you’re an Aussie.

    Today is the first of Spring … Summer is heading my way and I have to say I cannot wait until it gets hotter. We go boating on Lake Macquarie, fishing and swimming off the back of the boat. We even do sleepovers and stargaze. Including check out the latest view of the satelites spinning above us.

    *sigh*

    Come on summer!

  32. Sarah Tormey says:

    I can’t wait for Fall! Having spent my childhood in Florida, I love the change of season and the sense of a new beginning each one brings:)

    Great blog. And I hope you enjoy the area. My husband and I love Rhinebeck if you’re up for a Hudson Valley trip.

  33. Heather, I’m so weirded out that you’re just starting summer! LOL! And it really weirds me out that Christmas is in the summer for you! That must be wild! But it sounds like you’re going to have a wonderful summer!! I hope you enjoy it! 🙂

  34. Sarah, thanks for stopping by! You really must appreciate the seasons after growing up in Florida! Thanks for the tip on Rhinebeck! We’ll definitely check it out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

