Golden Apple Awards!

RWA-NYC

I would like to first congratulate all the winners of last night’s award ceremony! Among the winners was our chapter’s very own Patt Mihailoff, Author of the Year, who gave such a warm and inspiring speech! She is an inspiration to so many in our chapter and it was wonderful to see her accept her award!

Though I oftentimes take it for granted, I know that it is a distinct privilege to be able to live in New York City (Okay, Jersey City, but what’s a 7-minute ride under the Hudson?). Last night, as I mixed and mingled at RWA-NYC’s 19th Annual Golden Apple Awards, I had one of those “Wow! I’m so lucky!” moments. I can’t imagine many other places where I might have had the opportunity to mingle with agents and editors from all the big NY publishing houses in such an intimate setting.

It really hit me, as I sat with friend and fellow Regency author, Sarah Tormey, just how fortunate I was. My dream editor, Tessa Woodward, came right up to us and struck up a conversation! Not only that, but she stayed and chatted with us for a good thirty minutes!

And when Miriam Kriss from the Irene Goodman Agency struck up a conversation with me at the drink table (she noted that I needed to stay to the right half of the table where the non-alcoholic drinks were), I was simply amazed.

These are people! Not mean, scary ogres sitting behind their desks, taking their red REJECTION pens and laughing maliciously as they mark our manuscripts “Slush Pile”. Now, that’s not necessarily what I thought they were doing, but you know what I mean. There’s an intimidation factor there. These agents and editors could be your ticket to the NY Times Bestseller list! Not to mention, they hold our egos in their hands.

But what I learned last night – what they all proved as they approached me or made their speeches at the podium – is that they really do care. They really do want us, as authors, to succeed. Miriam Kriss referred to the slush pile as the “Slush Mountain” in her speech last night, and told us that she is prone to going through the slush pile on occasion. And, amazingly, she’s found a couple of NY Times Best Selling Authors in that pile.

And beyond having the opportunity to mingle with dream agents and editors, I also have the privilege to be part of such a wonderful family as the RWA-NYC chapter. The warm welcome I received from my fellow members, the inquiries to my health and my husband’s (he had an appendectomy last weekend, for those who don’t know), and the genuine interest in how things were progressing career-wise were overwhelming.

Indeed, I am fortunate in so many ways, and feeling so grateful today for the exciting opportunities life throws my way 🙂

11 thoughts on “Golden Apple Awards!

  1. Sarah Tormey says:

    Great summary of a wonderful evening! I had so much fun chatting with you and all of the other members and industry professionals.

    I hope your hubby continues on the road to recovery:)

  2. Sounds like a great time! I love my chapter’s conference each year. The agents and editors and big authors are so much more personable then when I go to RWA Nationals. I remember meeting Elaine Spencer (Knight Agency) at my small chapter conference, and the next year I went to RWA Nationals and said hi to her. She remembered me!!! But she was too busy to talk to me during Nationals, yet at the conference, she was more relaxed and talked to a lot of us.

    Just last year I met another agent – Cori Deyoe from 3 Sea Lit Agency. She was shy! Never figured that one. But she rode in my car (along with an editor from EC/Cerridwen) and we all chatted like we were best friends. Cori sat beside me at the restuarant and she laughed at my jokes. Gotta love that.

    So yeah, they are real people. And so far everyone I’ve met has been extremely polite.

    Great blog!!

    ~Phyllis~

  3. Kwana says:

    What a wonderful night last night. I’m so sorry that I didn’t get to see you sitting down. You are right in you recap. The attendees and honorees were so gracious and special. Yes, they really so care.

  4. Karen Cino says:

    Wonderful blog Jerrica. You did an awesome job on the invitation and you looked great. Last night was magical. I got to speak to everyone. It was a special night for all, especially our honorees.

    Thank you for all your work.

  5. Some of the best things life happen by way of chance encounters and unexpected avenues. Keep your eyes open!

  6. Lisbeth Eng says:

    I agree, Jerrica! It was a wonderful evening and our chapter members are so supportive and inspiring. Glad you got a chance to talk to your “dream editor”!

    Lis

  7. Excellent blog Jerrica! It’s funny how the little things that make life so wonderful sneak up on you and say surprise! Glad you had a wonderful time!

  8. Wow! That’s really all I can say. I don’t even live close to a chapter to belong to one. What a fabulous experience.

  9. sue says:

    I had the same friendly experience when I visited Washington from Australia for the national conference. All the agents and editors were so interested and enthusiastic about everything anyone was writing. Wonderful!
    Suzi

  10. Heather Boyd says:

    I’m glad you appreciate what an amazing community you have access to. Make the most of it.

  11. Storidiva says:

    Thank you so much for your warm words. Jerrica. As I have said and will always say, none of my successes could have been possible without our RWA/NYC chapter.
    I am truly blessed to be in the company of such gifted authors and friends.

Leave a Reply

