Getting back in the swing of things!

Well, for those who don’t know, Miss Bella Catania was born via c-section exactly 9 days ago…do the math, and you’ll see that she was born on her mommy’s favorite day of the whole year: Christmas Day!

But now that she’s here and we’re in a pretty predictable routine (at least for now), mommy is starting to get her groove back. For 9 months I struggled with inspiration/motivation for my writing, and even reading or critiquing for my [awesome] crit partners. I was firmly ensconced in Pregnant World! And it wasn’t until a couple days ago that I even realized how ensconced I had been. I often wondered if I would ever feel like writing again, but mostly I was too exhausted or preoccupied to care. And I assumed that once Bella was here, I REALLY wouldn’t feel like writing. But boy was I wrong! I’ve got 9 months of pent up creativity banging on my brain to get out.

So, without further ado, I will leave you all with this picture of my precious girl and turn my attention to manuscript #3, maybe a short story (or two) and critiques for my crit partners.

Happy writing and reading!

10 thoughts on “Getting back in the swing of things!

  1. Tanya says:

    Jerrica,

    How beautiful! Congrats again. Glad you feel like you’re back in the swing. Don’t overdo! Time surely does fly by. Capture the precious moments when you can.

    Tanya

  2. Thanks, Tanya! And I promise I won’t overdo it! πŸ™‚

  3. Heather Boyd says:

    Oh my, did I have a doubt about how photogenic your child would be? I really shouldnt be surprised by that wonderful photo. She is so pretty.

    Glad to hear your writers brain has kicked in and I’m looking forward to reading more of your work. Have missed it! :oD

  4. Very nice!! πŸ™‚ I have taken a hiatus of my own for the last two weeks. I need to get back to it!

    I’m really happy for you and can’t wait to hear about your new WIP πŸ™‚

  5. Kwana says:

    Bella is beautiful and ease yourself back into the writing world. She looks like a wonderful partner!

  6. Such a beautiful baby and I agree you shouldn’t over do it for now. She may be co-operating now but in a day or two you may end up brain dead. Don’t sacrifice sleep for writing at all for at least another few weeks. We want your recovery to be quick!

    I’m glad you’re feeling better though. And give Bella a big kiss for me since I can’t, she truly is a little princess just like her momma. =)

  7. Maria Ferrer says:

    Congratulations on getting your groove back. And a big welcome to Bella. She is a beauty.

  8. Carol says:

    OMG! Jerrica! She’s beautiful!!! What a wonderful gift. Don’t worry about writing. Enjoy being a mommy! πŸ™‚

  9. Samantha Grace says:

    So sweet! I’m glad you are feeling great. I don’t think I felt human again until last year. πŸ˜‰ Yes, my baby is 7 years old. It takes a while to catch up on four years of never sleeping through the night. Can’t wait to read your new work. Hugs!

  10. Thanks so much, everyone! I promise I’ll continue to take it easy! It’s just great to feel human again!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

