Sherlock Holmes

So Eric and I finally got out to see Sherlock Holmes on Saturday night. We were going to go on Christmas Day, but we ended up being a little busy (for those who don’t know, our daughter was born on Christmas Day :))

I was so excited for this film and it did not disappoint. And I actually can’t wait to see it again…and again…and again… It’s one of those films that I’m sure will reveal new things to me with every viewing.

Robert Downey, Jr. is absolutely brilliant in the role of Holmes. And Jude Law is the perfect sidekick as Watson. Both performances were incredibly nuanced and perfectly portrayed. My only complaint was that I had trouble understanding them sometimes – there was a good amount of mumbling and a lot of “asides” that were tossed off. I know I missed a good chunk of the dialog, which is another reason I’m excited to see it again.

One thing I really loved was the gritty, dirty side they showed of London. As a Regency writer, I have this glorified, whimsical view of what London looked like in the 19th Century, and I’m pretty sure it’s horribly skewed. Not only did they spend most of the movie in the slums of London, but they did amazing things with the weather! The dark, stormy clouds that hung over the city looked almost painted on. It gave a surreal tone to the movie that I loved and that you usually only see in a Baz Luhrman film. Throw in the steampunk element, an awesome musical score and a great supporting cast (love me some Rachel McAdams, and you might recognize Kelly Reilly as Mr. Bingley’s sister from the Keira Knightly Pride & Prejudice), and you have one fantastic film!

Did anybody else see this film? I’m curious what you thought! And has anyone read the book? I have not, but I’m curious to see what similarities – if any – there are between the book and the film.

4 thoughts on “Sherlock Holmes

  1. Lydia Dare says:

    Oh, Jerrica! I loved Sherlock Holmes. I adored the movie and cannot wait to see it again for the exact same reasons you mentioned. I have read some Holmes stories, but it’s been nearly twenty years. Loved the inside jokes like the trunk of Watson’s notes for the adventure story he was going to write, since Sir Arthur Conan Doyle wrote the Holmes stories through Watson’s eyes as the author.

    Wonderful cast. Wonderful movie. Loved it. Loved it. Loved it.

  2. Okay, I just added the complete collection to my Amazon cart. You inspired me to read it, Jodie! I can’t wait…now I just have to find the time 🙂 Glad you loved the movie as much as I did – wish we lived closer so we could go see it together!!

  3. Haven’t seen it. Now I want to. I just need to find the time.

  4. Heather Boyd says:

    Its a plan for our next date night if its still showing . Glad it meets with your approval though – it has to be good.

Leave a Reply

