14 Days of Valentines!

Valentine’s Day is one of my favorite holidays. It always has been. Even if I didn’t have a boyfriend, I still loved it, because it’s a day to celebrate love! And who doesn’t love love? The days leading up to Valentine’s – if I was single – were always filled with anticipation. “Will someone ask me out at the last minute?” “Do I have a secret admirer, and will he reveal himself to me on Valentine’s Day?” Neither of those things ever happened, but I certainly loved to dream about them, which probably explains why I became a romance author. Now I can live out all those dreams through my characters!

But now I have a permanent Valentine, and we love celebrating this day together. However, this year, I wanted the season to last longer than just the one day. It occurred to me that for Thanksgiving and Christmas, Halloween and Easter, we prepare for the day. We have weeks leading up to the day that we think about and celebrate the holiday. So why not do that with V-Day??

I remember as a little girl, my mom made me a Valentine Mailbox and put it right outside my door. Every morning leading up to V-Day, I would find a little Valentine in my box. Boy, was that exciting! So this year, I proposed that Eric and I do 14 Days of Valentines. I didn’t have time to make boxes for us, so I found cute little heart-shaped baskets and I put them on the window ledge in the living room. We were supposed to start on Monday, but we didn’t end up getting it together by then, so day 1 was yesterday. I gave him a 100 piece puzzle with two cute puppies on the front that we put together last night. He gave me a mini card with the Princess & the Frog on it and a chocolate heart. I can’t wait to see what I’ll get tonight…I’ll have to decide which of the many goodies I’ve collected to give to Eric!

So how do you feel about Valentine’s Day? Do you embrace it, even if you’re single? Or are you the type to have an anti-Valentine’s Day celebration? If you do have a Valentine, how do you tend to celebrate the day/season? Any special plans this year??

6 thoughts on “14 Days of Valentines!

  1. gail says:

    The best part of Valentine’s Day now is buying chocolate for the kids. I always go out of my way to get them the heart-shaped package designs that match their favorite things. (Spongebob for dd, Guitar for youngest son, etc.) And invariably, they end up trading because they don’t want whatever candy is in there. Happy First Valentines Day to Bella!

  2. Thanks for stopping by, Gail! I have to say, I can’t WAIT for Bella to be old enough to enjoy V-Day! She has several outfits to wear this year in celebration, but I’m pretty sure putting chocolate in her formula would not go over well. LOL!

  3. I’ve never had a valentine of my own. LOL. But that doesn’t stop me from loving the holiday. I tend to have a group of friends that are all single on Valentine’s Day, and we do a Singleton’s Day party. We watch romantic comedies and eat pizza and chocolate, and generally enjoy our time together.

  4. That sounds like so much fun, Catherine! I kind of want to have a Singleton’s Day Party now! LOL! I’m glad you embrace the holiday even without a Valentine. After all, love comes in all different forms, and I’m sure you and your friends love each other very much! Have a great time!

  5. Heather Boyd says:

    I’ve been with my husband for quite a while and unfortunately Valentines Day celebrations have dimmed for us. We still give cards and tackle each other for extra kisses but really the whole “lets go out because its Valentines Day” stopped when we had kids.

    But we go on dates each month – thats something that I love.

  6. That’s okay, Heather…sounds like you two make plenty of effort to keep the love alive, anyway 🙂 I love the phrase “tackle each other for extra kisses.” I might just have to tackle Eric as well! LOL!

Leave a Reply

