Help me name my hero!

Okay, I have officially embarked on book 5. I was tired of editing the old manuscripts and decided I needed to renew my love for writing. However, a few paragraphs in, I started my search for a name for my hero.

My heroine is already named, as she appears in previous books, but Victoria cannot stand alone. She needs a hero with a strong name, but at the same time, I’m looking for a name that is endearing. A name that has a fun nickname for her to call him. So, these are the names I’ve come up with that I like, but I want you, dear readers, to help me make the final decision!

Broderick
Brigham
Felix
Fitzgerald
Lambert
Phineas

Okay, time to cast your vote! My poor hero shall remain nameless until the end of today!

19 thoughts on “Help me name my hero!

  1. Sherrill Graviano says:

    Of the names provided, Lambert is the only one that really pairs well with Victoria when said together due to Victoria’s multiple syllables! “Lambert and Victoria” or “Victoria and Lambert”

    Broderick and Fitzgerald have too many syllables to pair comfortably with Victoria. Felix is short enough but to abrupt in it’s ending on the tongue while Phineas is just too weak.

    Just my thoughts…

  2. Thanks, Sherrill! Interesting way to go about determining the name. I actually like Lambert for the nickname he would have, so it’s definitely high on my list πŸ™‚

  3. Kristin Andersen says:

    Book 4 in the series! That’s great. Re your all-important quest, for some reason Maxwell (Max, Maxi) immediately came to mind. Others might be Spencer (Spence) and Albert (Albie). A few more names are coming to mind, but not the nicknames that could go with them. Don’t know why, but Paddington just came to mind. πŸ™‚ Reminds me of teddy bears.

    Good luck!

  4. Lydia Dare says:

    From what you’ve listed I like Phineas the best, because I love Fin as a nickname.

    Off line, I’ll tell you my problems with the others. πŸ˜‰ No point in giving everyone an insight into my psyche.

  5. Thanks, Kristin! Some great names to think about! I actually really like Paddington. LOL!

  6. P.S. I feel so silly…it’s actually book 5! I’ve been working on book 4, so that number is stuck in my brain!

  7. I knew you’d have an opinion, Lydia…looking forward to your off-line advice πŸ™‚

  8. Sarah Tormey says:

    I vote for Brigham:)

    PS: How’s Bella?

  9. That’s Eric’s vote, too, Sarah πŸ™‚

    Bella is amazing!! Thanks for asking! I can’t wait for you to experience motherhood…it’s the GREATEST!! (P.S. Pick up Baby Wise and read it cover to cover…twice! It’s the greatest book on sleep training ever!)

  10. I like Broderick…but what would be is nickname? Rick? I love the name Rick, but that doesn’t sound too historical. I don’t like the name Brigham…only because that’s the name of the town where I live. lol Felix is okay, but why do I think of a cat? hahaha

    ~Phyllis~

  11. gail says:

    Hi Jerrica,
    Sorry but I’m not much help here. On the list, I like Broderick, but your audio book will be twice as long as all the others if you use that one. Before I saw the list, I was thinking Alexander sounded good with Victoria. It’ll be interesting to see what you choose.

  12. Samantha Grace says:

    I really like Phineas. The nickname Fin, or Finnie when she wants to needle him, is fun. Felix always reminds me of that black cat clock with shifty eyes. πŸ™‚

  13. Broderick (Rick or Brod (kidding) or Phineas (Fin).

  14. Mari says:

    oooo -hate hate Lambbert! My last name is “Lamb” and my poor hubby got razzed something awful in boot camp with the last name “Lamb!” My vote is for Broderick. I like names that sound stupid when shortened. So she’d have to call him by his full name “Broderick” all the time.

    Mari

  15. I love how opinionated everyone has gotten over the names! LOL! It’s like naming a baby…only worse!

    Just to clarify on the nicknames…

    Broderick = Brody
    Lambert = Lamby (which he’ll hate, of course!)
    Felix = Flick

    Thanks for your input, everyone!

  16. I love the name Broderick with the nickname Brody. It’s strong and unique in a sense. Definitely, Brody. It’s cute!

  17. Kwana says:

    I’m in the Broderick camp. Good picks.

  18. Aunt Pat says:

    Phineas was the name of one of my elves in a children’s story I wrote so for me that name wouldn’t bring thoughts of a hunk….I like Lambert or Adam – Duncan is good too…just my thoughts

  19. Thanks for the votes, everyone! I’ve made my decision…

    And the winner is…

    PHINEAS!

    @Aunt Pat: You wrote a children’s story?? Is it published? Can Bella have a copy?? πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

