Happy Earth Day!

Happy Earth Day, everyone!

I have to admit, I’m not the greatest at being earth-friendly. Sure, I recycle the standard cans, bottles, plastics and cardboards. And I also do my part by living in a big city where I can avoid having a car. And I make ocean-friendly fish at least once a week.

But I also do a lot that’s NOT so earth friendly. We use real diapers, for one. I have the TV going all day long, even if I’m not watching it. And I get plastic bags from the grocery store (but I always reuse them, so hopefully that helps a little bit!)

So today I’m going to do my best to start making small changes. I’m not going to turn the TV on at all today…I’ll only turn it on tonight when I’m ready to sit down and actually watch it. And I’m going to start carrying my reusable Princess Tiana bag from the Disney Store when I go shopping. There’s no need to get plastic bags from the drug store when I pick up my prescriptions and toiletries. Or when I pick up a new outfit for Bella at JC Penney. Oh, and I just started recycling my cat food cans! That’s one thing I should have been doing all along, but just didn’t occur to me!

I encourage all my readers to take small steps toward preserving our planet. Even if it’s something small for just this one day! And please share your own tips for conserving! Below, you’ll find my recipe for my favorite ocean-friendly fish!

10-Minute Tilapia & Ravioli
Heat sunflower oil in a pan
Beat an egg in one dish
Mix flour and parmesan cheese in another dish
Dip fresh tilapia in the egg, then the flour, then place in pan (roughly 3-4 minutes on each side)
Serve with a side of spinach ravioli!

3 thoughts on “Happy Earth Day!

  1. One thing I do is leave the lights off during the day, if I can get enough sunlight through the windows for what I’m doing. It’s just a little thing, but I know it helps on the electric bill!

  2. Anne says:

    Your post is a great reminder that we should take care of our planet. And, considering all the earthquakes, and now the volcano eruptions in Iceland, it’s as though our planet is insisting that everyday should be earth day.
    Thanks, Anne

  3. One thing that I think is easy and important to do is to buy foods grown or produced locally. Not only do you know what you’re eating, you help your local economy and help the earth by eliminating the cost of energy for transporting your tomatoes from the South Pole or wherever.

Leave a Reply

