Let the Challenge Begin!

As writers, we often spend much of our time sitting in a chair…or in the bed…or on the couch…typing away, and probably less time than we should working out and being active. Add to that the children and spouses we take care of, the household responsibilities, day jobs and the general stresses of everyday life…well, let’s just say we’re probably not all as healthy or fit as we want to be.

For me, I’m 4.5 months past the birth of my daughter and I’m absolutely pulling my hair out over my weight. In many ways, this is a good thing. I may not be morbidly obese…or anywhere near it for that matter…but there’s something inside me that goes haywire once I reach a certain weight. This would explain my yo-yo-ing for many years.

However, a few years ago I did lose 30lbs with good ol’ calorie counting, and I kept it off until I got pregnant (which was about 2 years.) My issue now: I’m having trouble letting go of my pregnancy eating habits. I went to full-fat, real sugar and oftentimes organic foods, because I didn’t want to fill my body-and my baby-with chemical-induced foods. Great! you may say. And yes, it probably was great…but make no mistake! Organic health food does NOT equal diet food.

So now I’m addicted…to sugar, to muffins, to bagels…I’ve always been a carboholic, but I still lost 30lbs eating the right carbs and in the right amounts. I just can’t seem to tear myself away from the yummiest carbs 🙂

The only thing to do is purge my diet for a couple of weeks. I have to limit my eating, and the best way for me to do that is to take a pre-determined challenge. I’m always up for a challenge!

So today I begin the Special K Challenge. I plan to do it for two weeks, and I’m quite excited about it. And Special K has so many great options that I don’t think I’ll get bored. I do plan to add in some raw fruits and veggies to accompany the cereals, bars, crackers and shakes. Plus you can choose whichever meal in your day that you want to have real food. So if we’re headed out for a lunch special, that’s fine…or if I’m making one of my crockpot dinners, that’s fine too!

If anyone wants to join me, let me know – we can always check in with one another for support!
Special K Challenge

Happy Eating, everyone! 🙂

5 thoughts on “Let the Challenge Begin!

  1. I’ve never been able to lose weight by doing a specific diet, whether it was Special K or South Beach, or any of the other “diets.” The only thing that has ever worked for me is what you talked about–calorie counting. Specifically, using a website like Sparkpeople.com to track everything I eat, so that I could keep track of not only calories, but fat, carbs, proteins, etc. It will track almost anything, absolutely for free. By doing that, I learned to eat better, and I would just automatically lose weight.

    Too bad I never manage to completely stick to it. I’ll do it for six months and lose 30 or 40 pounds (and yes, I’m obese), but then something will happen and I’ll stop tracking. The next thing I know, I’ll have gained most if not all of it back.

    I really need to start using that again. Maybe I’ll start today and do it with you.

  2. Erin Kelly says:

    I feel for you. I made the transition to an all natural, mostly organic diet, and I am living proof that it is definitely NOT diet food. I have been upping my workouts to compensate, but I am still up about 5 pounds 😦 I too lost a lot of weight (50 lbs) about 6 years ago, and I do my best to maintain it. Of course, it helps when you don’t go and get pregnant 😉
    Good luck!

    Erin Kelly

  3. Catherine, that would be so fun if we were doing weight loss challenges together! It’s so much funner when you don’t have to go it alone 🙂 Let me know if you decide to do your own challenge and we can check in on each other if you want 🙂

    Erin, isn’t it AWFUL that the foods that are best for you aren’t necessarily the best for your waistline?? Drives me insane! But you’re right…pregnancy will really put a damper on your diet. LOL! And good for you for dropping that 50lbs!

  4. Heather Boyd says:

    Jerrica … am having the same issues with my weight too. I’m just not moving enough, eating too often and struggling to keep a lid on the added weight – and find my way into my clothes as well.

    While I wont attempt the Special K diet (I know me – I’ve never stuck to one) I’ll be attempting to lose some weight on my side of the planet. Catch up with you for a progress report in a week?

  5. Heather, totally! Let’s check in with each other in a week! So exciting! 🙂

Leave a Reply

