I hate running…so why am I doing a 5K?

I don’t know about you, but I’m not a huge fan of running. It all stems back to middle school. Remember the President’s Physical Fitness Test? Let’s just say I flunked it hard! I went to a small private school and our “track” was just a big field that was fine for playing soccer or baseball, but not ideal to run around. There were big holes and it was hard. Oh, and iPods hadn’t been invented, so it was pretty darn boring to run back in those days. I had just discovered my talent as a singer in middle school, too, so that served as a great excuse on days that were too hot (“I can’t get sweaty, I have a voice lesson right after school”) or too cold (“My voice teacher says I can’t run outside in the cold or I’ll ruin my voice.”) And by high school, I was a pro at getting out of gym class. I still don’t know how I graduated.

But fast forward a – ahem – few years, and I find myself more and more eager to be challenged in the area of fitness. Okay, okay…I find my body needs me to be more challenged so I don’t end up on TLC’s “The 600-Pound Woman.”

I’ve always been grateful that I have that switch inside of me that says, “Giiiiiirl, you better watch yoself!” whenever I get to a weight that is just simply unacceptable for my height and frame. A few years ago I managed to lose 30lbs and kept it off for a very long time. Turns out getting pregnant is like the worst diet wrecker. (lol) So I find myself needing to lose 30lbs again.

Well, last Friday, as we sat at happy hour with our other mom/dad friends and their babies, one of the moms mentioned she’d be running a 5K in October, right here in Liberty State Park. “Let’s all do it!” I say before I can stop myself. And before I know it, we’ve all committed to running a 5k in October.

Now, I’ve gotten better about running and sweating and stuff in recent years. As a matter of fact, I might even say that I thrive on intense workouts. But a 5k? Running for 5 whole kilometers. Yes, I know I don’t have to run the whole thing, but the type-A, goal-driven b***h that I am really wants to say that I ran for 5k without breaking a sweat. Okay, I know I’ll probably break a sweat, but well, we’ll see how it all shakes out.

Anyway, I’ll keep you updated on my training progress. I have until October 17 and I’ve already chosen my training program. This should be fun…maybe 🙂

2 thoughts on “I hate running…so why am I doing a 5K?

  1. maria ferrer says:

    You are a better woman than I.

    Good luck in the 5K run. —maria

Leave a Reply

