Pseudonyms: Who Needs ’em?

About a year ago, my husband and I embarked on a new venture that you may or may not have heard about by now. It’s a brand and a book called The Happiest Couple on the Block. We have a website, Facebook and Twitter accounts, a blog, emails…and now, we’ve started another new project under the Happiest Couple and that is our NY Cupcake Tour and blog. NYCupcakeguide.com We’re hitting up all the famous and not-so-famous bakeries in NYC (and surrounding areas) so that we can taste and review the cupcakes for our readers.

One of the things we decided to do as The Happiest Couple was write under pseudonyms, so Aaron and Jessica Walters were born. Great, right? Well, maybe. It’s really hard to keep them straight sometimes. Like when we do our radio broadcasts or when we’re whipping up a quick blog entry or sending an email to someone. We really have to stay on our game to make sure we don’t slip up and say – or sign – our real names.

But then I think…what does it matter if people know we’re not really Aaron and Jessica Walters? I really don’t know what the repercussions are.

And then, in my own “practice”, I write as both Jerrica Knight-Catania and also as Posey Prince (the latter has nothing published, but that’s how I’m pitching my chick lit in the writing world.) So now I have to remember, when I’m sending out queries and pitches, to do the whole Jerrica Knight-Catania w/a Posey Prince.

Oh, and don’t forget that each persona needs a Facebook page, a Twitter profile, a website, a blog, an email…

Sometimes my head spins when I think of all the things I need to do for each of my personas. So I’m curious – do you write under a pseudonym (or 3?) Do they all have their own social networking profiles? How do you remember to keep them straight…or do you? And do you make a point to keep your real identity and other personas separate?

Thanks for stopping by and sharing your input!

4 thoughts on “Pseudonyms: Who Needs ’em?

  1. Lydia Dare says:

    Oh, yes! Along with my good friend, we are both Lydai Dare. Yes, there are two of us that are Lydia. That can be confusing, trust me. I had never wanted to reveal my real name, but because there are two Lydias, press releases and blogs listed both of our real names as well.
    And then…I’m getting ready to embark on writing solo again. And for that I’ll need a new pen name. I don’t think my real name is all that exciting, plus I’d rather not see my ex-husband’s last name on anything I produce. So a new pen name is most definitely needed.
    Yes, twitter, facebook, email accounts for each persona. It is SOOOO time consuming.

  2. Lydia, I know you confuse the heck out of the hubby. LOL! Even before Lydia was invented, he couldn’t keep your names straight!! Ha!

  3. Clarissa is a pen name, borrowed from a 19th century ancestor. I am trying to switch everything over to her name. I only add my real name if it’s someone I know personally who wouldn’t recognize the pen name, or my mother, who is offended that I hate the name she gave me. LOL.

  4. I love the name Clarissa! I think it’s beautiful. Of course, your real name is beautiful, too 🙂 I just think it’s so neat that you took your pen name from an ancestor!

Leave a Reply

