Romantic Comedies…

I’m sure this won’t come as a surprise to people who know me…or to people who have seen me from a great distance…but I love romantic comedies. I actually consider myself a connoisseur of rom coms (yeah, we’re on a nickname basis, because that’s how tight we are.) And thankfully, it’s okay that I love them because I have a hubby who far prefers romantic comedies to action or violence. So there’s no shortage of romance-filled evenings in our home. (Okay, sometimes the baby throws a wrench in things, but still…)

We recently sat down to watch a couple of new releases, Leap Year and Backup Plan.

Leap Year was actually better than I expected. It had all the makings of a good chick

Note the Louis suitcase and heels under the jeans

lit novel: rude hot guy for a hero, spoiled heroine with her Louis Vuitton bags and 4-inch Prada heels trying desperately to get from a podunk town on the coast of Ireland to Dublin. And, of course, nothing ever goes right. Okay, so maybe it was a wee bit cliche, but sometimes, that’s okay. Amy Adams and Matthew Goode worked really well together, and we especially loved the cliche dinner scene at the Bed & Breakfast. And the cinematography was beautiful. Eric kept saying, “It’s like a Valentine to Ireland.” LOL! Cheesy? Yes. But definitely true. I would definitely recommend this flick for a rainy Saturday afternoon of snuggling with your loved one.

The best friend and the dog were definite highlights of the film!

As for The Backup Plan…let that be your…well, backup plan. This movie was just so-so, in my opinion. The script was a little lacking, as was the acting, though it did pick up momentum about halfway through. And the bathtub birth scene was quite amusing. Okay, we were both laughing like hyenas at the slapstick humor of that scene…it was very amusing. Some of the parts that were supposed to be funny just weren’t all that funny. But the movie did have heart, and once it stopped trying to be funny and gave in to the more serious emotions, it was a LOT better. I will say that Eric really enjoyed the entire thing, so maybe I just wasn’t in the right mood for it. However, if I’m going to watch a J-Lo rom com again, it’s definitely going to be The Wedding Planner and not The Backup Plan. Oh, and I forgot to say that if you’re pregnant, you’ll probably get a kick out of some of the “pregnant” humor. Some of that was spot on!

Thanks for joining me for Movie Review Friday (I just made that up…it’s not really a thing.)

Have a safe and happy Labor Day!

Leave a Reply

