Au Revoir, Montreal!

Well, today is the day we say good-bye to Montreal and head back to NYC. It’s been a wonderful time, but there are three things I’m incredibly anxious to get back home for:

1) My baby girl! I cried buckets when I said goodbye to her a few days ago. Then there was about a 30-hour period where I was glad for the time away to recharge my batteries. But ever since then, I’ve been missing her terribly, and it gets worse with every passing minute! But I’ll finally get to see her tomorrow when Grandma and Grandpa meet us in the city to hand her back. It can’t get here soon enough!

2) My DVR! So many shows premiered this week, old favorites and hopefully some fun new additions to our weekly line-up as well. What I’m really desperate to see, though, is this week’s Vampire Diaries! I almost miss Stefan, Elena and Damon as much as I miss my little princess…okay, not quite that much, but you get the point šŸ™‚

3) Food that’s not drenched in cream, butter or sugar! We’ve had the delight of being fed 2, sometimes 3, meals a day here at the conference. The meals are catered by our hotel’s very high end restaurant, Merchant Boeuf, so the quality is unlike any conference we’ve ever attended. Breakfast is especially yummy! But my body is starting to reject the cream bases, the rich meats, the decadent desserts…goodness, I’m getting full again just thinking about it! But I can’t wait to get back to my simple homemade pasta dishes, my Cosi salads or my light, yummy crab cakes from O’Connell’s.

It’s so fun to travel and experience other cultures, but it’s also wonderful to go home again. What kinds of things do you miss when you go away??

One thought on “Au Revoir, Montreal!

  1. Jody Sinkway says:

    Jerrica! You miss your VAMPIREs almost as much as your BABY?? Nice hierarchy of priorities!! LOL . . . when I was in Paris and under some pressure (another story for another day) once, I remember suddenly getting a HUGE pang of longing for my two sisters. Other than that, I don’t usually miss much when I’m away from home, except maybe my own bed . . . I love being out and about and away and experiencing new people and new cultures. I also love being “anonymous” in a city or town where nobody has a CLUE who I am . . . it’s very freeing . . . šŸ™‚ . . . have a good trip back! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

