The 5K Approaches!

Okay, so I’m now in the homestretch – only 3 days left till my first 5K run! Well, not officially, I guess. I have run the 5k at least 5 times now in my training, and I think I’m ready to hit the course on Sunday. I can’t run it as fast as I had hoped – we got waylaid with lots of illness over the last month and a half, and even now, I’m fighting a weensie little cold that my daughter and husband have so graciously passed on to me.

But here are my thoughts as I prepare to run this race on Sunday:

1) I cannot WAIT for it to be over! I love a good challenge, I really do. But frankly, I ran the 5k several weeks ago for the first time and ever since then, it’s been pure torture to get on that treadmill. I’m bored out of my mind and definitely ready to get back to what  I love: mixing it up!!

2) Running is NOT for weight loss. Now, I know that if you’re doing anaerobic exercise, you’re going to burn muscle before fat and that if you’re heart rate is above a certain level, you’re not in the weight-loss zone, blah, blah, blah. But seriously?!?!? I’ve been running my butt off for almost 3 months now, 3-4 times a week (minus a week or two for sickness), and not only have I not lost any weight, I’ve gained several pounds. And no, it’s not muscle, in case you were wondering. I’m flabbier than ever! Admittedly, I should have kept up with the one day a week of weight training. But this is just another reason why I can’t wait to get back to my schedule of mixing it up!

3) I’m extremely proud of myself! Despite the fact I’ve gained weight and I’m totally over running, I have achieved something really great. To go from being a person who could only run one minute at a time a couple months ago to running for 40 minutes straight feels like a big accomplishment. I know I have a lot of be proud of, and I am. But my next goal will have nothing to do with running! I came, I ran, I conquered…now I’m moving on!

So what is next? I’ve decided I want to do a yoga challenge for the month of November. I plan to practice every single day for 30 days, whether it’s just a couple poses to stretch me out in the morning or before bed, or a full 90-minute class at the gym, because I do plan to do other things this time. The elliptical machine is calling my name and so are all the weight machines. And maybe I’ll throw in a 3-mile run here and there…just because I can 😉

If you wish to support me in the Run for Wishes, follow this link to my donation page!
Jerrica’s Donation Page

5 thoughts on “The 5K Approaches!

  1. I’ve never been able to convince myself to run. LOL. One of these days, I’d like to walk a marathon, though. I’m proud of you for sticking with it, even though you’ve found it really isn’t your cup of tea.

  2. Kwana says:

    Best of luck with your 5K. Good for you going for it.

  3. jstewart.ent@gmail.com says:

    Good luck with the run. Too bad that the running didn’t help with weight loss, since I started running again about two months ago, my muffin top is markedly less muffin-eee 🙂 Oh, and yoga is GREAT for tightening the flab and so good for the space between your ears!

  4. Thanks, Catherine and Kwana!

    J – I probably would have seen more results if I’d been doing other things along with the running, but time is in short supply with a 9-month-old. LOL! Congrats on your own success!

  5. Good luck in your run today. I’ll be rooting for you from the Midwest. I may join you in the yoga, and include some of my favorite exercises. I have not exercised in awhile and can feel it.

Leave a Reply

