Reviews…

I received my first review on Amazon today that wasn’t entirely glowing. It was only semi-glowing. The first paragraph was filled with all the things this person loved about my first book, A Gentleman Never Tells, but even as I read it, I knew there was something negative coming…they did give me 4/5 stars, after all. (Well, 3.5, but thankfully, they rounded up for the actual star rating :))

Rarely is it fun to read criticism of our work, but I found that I as I read the less-than-favorable comments, I wasn’t devastated. Actually, it hardly phased me what this person had to say. Perhaps it was because I could see where she was coming from – her criticism might not be totally unfounded. Or maybe it’s just because I’m used to it. And I’ve survived a lot harsher words than hers.

Don’t get me wrong…I’m not inviting people to review me negatively. The book is done and published, so there’s nothing I can do about it anyway. But it was good to know that I could survive a less than glowing review and still want to keep writing and promoting my books. That hasn’t always been the case. Sticks and stones aren’t truly the only things that can break us, and I’ve succumbed to the woe-is-me-pity-party more times than I care to count as a result of something someone else said about me.

But the point I want to make is that we can’t control what other people say, only how we react to it. It’s unreasonable to think that every single person who reads our books is going to love, love, love them like we want them to. I know I don’t love every book I read. And there are books I adore that have garnered one-star reviews from other readers (insane readers, if you ask me! LOL!)

So, if you’re a published author, or plan to be, learn to take reviews with a grain of salt. Be grateful for the favorable reviews you get, and shrug off the rest 🙂

3 thoughts on “Reviews…

  1. Thank you for sharing this. As an unpublished author, I think that every writer at some stage in their career has to go through this, which is sad, but I think it makes them (the writer) even more accomplished, because someone actually took the time to read YOUR book, and good or bad, that’s awesome!

    Keep up the good work! 🙂

  2. Thanks, Isabella!

    I see that you’re working on your first chicklit! I am too, though it’s quite a shift from Regency Romance. lol. I wish you the best of luck in your writing journey!

  3. Thank you! Yes, Chick Lit is completely different! I wish you the best of luck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

