Twenties Girl…

Those who know me well know that one of my writing idols is Chick Lit maven, Sophie Kinsella. She has such a way with humor, and I haven’t read a book of hers that hasn’t had me LOLing throughout…unless, of course, I’m crying, because she’s brilliant at hitting you with the heart of the story when you least expect it.

I just finished her book Twenties Girl, and I absolutely loved it. My hubby is almost to the end now, too, and we have our little Chick Lit book club together to discuss what’s going on in the book. I love being married to a guy who’s willing to admit he loves Chick Lit!

Now, I’m not one to go into descriptions of books or write detailed reviews – those things you can find at her website or on Amazon. What I do like to do is share how books and movies affect my life and mood.

For instance, last night was date night for my hubby and me, and we chose a local, fairly new spot called Hamilton Inn. We had never been, but we’d heard good things and the menu was right up our alley.

We arrived at 6:30, right on time for our reservation, and the place was hopping! Despite the fact it’s small and dimly lit, it was packed, wall to wall, with locals and their kids. People in sweat pants, and others in their trendy best (us!) My immediate thought was that it felt like a London gastropub. And those that know me know that I L-O-V-E London gastropubs. One point for Hamilton Inn.

We sat down at a table for two, which was pushed up right next to another table for two where a casually dressed young couple sat eating their meal. They recommended the filet mignon sandwich, which sounded amazing, but we both decided to go different routes. Eric got the ribs (braised in Pabst Blue Ribbon beer!!) and I got the Chicken Bucheron (a fried chicken breast stuffed with pancetta, goat cheese and spinach, served with a side of the most incredible mashed potatoes I’ve ever had!)

Once we’d ordered I took another look at the drink menu. A list of prohibition-inspired drinks like a Fig Sidecar and Purple Knee High. I wasn’t planning to drink since Eric wasn’t feeling well, but then I thought What would Sadie do? Sadie being the co-heroine of Twenties Girl. I knew exactly what she would do. She would order a drink! So after consulting the waiter, I decided on Hamilton’s Sweet Tea Mint Tea.

Are you detecting a theme here? That’s right, there are southern influences majorly at play in the food and drink here!! So, yes, this southern-raised Anglophile was in heaven!

The drink came and not only was it brilliant, but by the time I was halfway through, I felt like I was a carefree flapper girl in 1925. Obviously I was under the influence of more than just a drink, but it was so easy to transport myself to that time and feeling as I sat in that restaurant with that drink and that food and that amazing man across from me. I’ll say it again, it was heaven. And I hadn’t even had dessert yet (I went with the pumpkin praline cheescake. H-E-A-V-E-N!!)

So am I going to recommend Twenties Girl? You betcha! And if you live in the NYC area, you must make the short jaunt to Jersey City to dine at The Hamilton Inn sometime. You won’t regret it!

2 thoughts on “Twenties Girl…

  1. Jody Sinkway says:

    Oh, Jerrica, I read that book, too, and ADORED it. I’ve read ALL of Sophie’s stuff, she’s so much fun . . . I don’t think she’s published anything that I HAVEN’T read . . . and I think I read the entire Shopaholic series in a week last summer, I swear . . . glad you had a nice night out with your hubby, you guys are too cute . . .

  2. Jody! I didn’t know you were a Sophie fan!!! How cool! Thanks for visiting 🙂

Leave a Reply

