Writer’s Block: Does it really exist?

Writer’s Block seems to be one of those mythical creatures like the Loch Ness Monster or the clitoris. There are camps of people who believe it exists, and other camps that think it’s not a real thing at all.

I’m typically not a believer in Writer’s Block, which kind of sucks, because I have it. Right now. I probably wouldn’t be writing this blog post if I didn’t have it – I would be hard at work at my novella, which was supposed to be done May 1st. That’s right. I’ve pushed my deadline back about 5 times now. And I can’t even tell you how annoyed I am with myself.

But let’s get down to brass tacks. Because deep down I know that there really isn’t such at thing as Writer’s Block. It’s not a “condition” you can get or a disease you contract by being around other writers who can’t seem to pull their own stories together. So what is it?

Ugh. I SO don’t want to go here, but there’s no other way. People, there is something that causes Writer’s Block. That’s right, a psychological reason why we get stuck sometimes. What it is for you, I can’t say. For me, I’m thinking maybe fear? Fear that it’s crap. Fear that once I do write it and publish it that no one will like it. Fear that some bitter woman will feel compelled to tell everyone in a public review that they shouldn’t waste their money on this book.

Yep, okay…it’s fear. But why? Crap is subjective, so surely not everyone will thinks it’s crap. Surely I’ll have some fans of this book. And I’ve survived bad reviews in the past, so it’s silly of me to let that stop me from finishing my next book.

So…what to do, what to do…

I feel like I’ve tried everything. I’ve tried reading books in the genre, I’ve tried reading books outside the genre. I’ve tried taking full days off just to recharge. I’ve tried writing a little every day. I’ve tried “unplugging,” I’ve tried workouts and showers and swimming and bike rides. I’ve even done the dishes in an attempt to (procrastinate) get the juices flowing.

So is my fear over-riding my attempts? Or am I just in a writing rut? *sigh* I have no idea. All I know is that I want this darn book to write itself!

Okay, bring it on. What do you do when you have Writer’s Block and you just don’t feel like writing??

Leave a Reply

