Finding *the* Book

Okay…I seriously don’t know what’s wrong with me. I’m a writer, for heaven’s sake. Therefore, I should be a reader, shouldn’t I? I used to LOVE reading! I guess it was 5 or 6 years ago now, I became an avid reader. I hadn’t been much of one before — maybe 10 books a year, if that. But then I found the romance genre and started devouring more like 30-40 books a year (which is a lot for me since I can be a slow reader)

When I started writing, it slowed a little bit to maybe 20 books a year. But ever since I had my daughter two years ago, I can probably count the number of books I’ve read to completion on one hand.

Well, that’s not entirely true. I do a good amount of beta reading for my fellow authors, and I have to say, I tend to prefer their work over what I’m buying from Amazon, B&N or iBooks. Granted, all their stuff ends up being at those outlets, since most of them are now well-known published authors, so I’m lucky enough to get sneak peaks.

But every time I open a book sample on my iPad, I get through maybe the first chapter and then I put it down. I don’t know what I’m looking for. A change in genre? Maybe, but that hasn’t proved successful yet. So maybe I haven’t found a genre I like. A return to my younger years? I used to LOVE those YA beach romances or Montana-rancher style contemporary romances, and part of me is craving that now. I just don’t know where to begin to look.

So I’m turning to you, dear readers, to help me get back on track. Recommend your favorite light-hearted, romantic books for me. Help me find the book(s) that will rekindle my love for reading! Please!! 🙂

9 thoughts on “Finding *the* Book

  1. Melody May says:

    Ok, it’s not a romance but I loved reading The Help. I also loved The Book Thief again not a romance novel but a young adult read. However, I love reading romance novels and had a ton this past year. I don’t if you have read any from Sarah Maclean, however, I like her books. I also like Mary Balogh the Huxtable Series (I have read that series at least 3 times). I loved Victoria Alexander’s The Perfect Mistress (made me laugh).

  2. Great suggestions, Melody May! thank you! I’m going to download the samples now!

  3. Shelby says:

    Summers at Castle Auburn by Sharon Shinn. It is in the fantasy genre (think castles, prince & princesses, etc) but there is romance, intrigue, magic and the most romantic scene in any book I have ever read in the last two chapters….a wedding then a proposal. Highly recommend. It is my favorite book. Shinn does a great 1st person POV narrator.

  4. Ooh! That sounds wonderful, Shelby! Thank you!! Downloading the sample in three…two…one… 🙂

  5. LaDiva says:

    comment is not a suggestion to a book but more of what I feel as I read a historical romance. I enjoy the mannerisms of the men, the love and conquest of it, I enjoy the courting, even a forbidden love. I love my heroines to be strong minded women, not easily succumbed to the wiles of men. But mostly, I enjoy the passion and ardor of Mr. Darcy meets Edward Cullen intertwined. That for the love of the one they love, they move mountains of impossibilities from their paths. What I enjoyed about ‘The Wary Widow’ and the ‘Bedeviled Bride’ is that the men were persistent and ruthless in their endeavor for their soul mate. Love is such a powerful thing. And these are but bits of the kind of things I look for in a historical romance book, which I feel is the greatest genre to read.

  6. So beautifully said, LaDiva!

    Thank you for stopping by and leaving such a beautiful and inspiring post 🙂

  7. LaDiva says:

    Thanks Jerrica. For me, these books inspire so much hope in my heart, a way to escape your everyday life for a breath of fresh air. It’s as if I myself have been transported to that era of regency. Historical romance authors, such as yourself, make just a few moments of fiction life feel real. And for me it is those moments that I enjoy, the quiet moment, and sudden burst of laughter, even the moments where I cry with the hero or heroine. It makes these endearing characters all the more real, because to me, they are more than just words in a page, they are characters I have come to love and consider part of my family. They become alive to me. And I find myself sharing every moment they are sharing. Lol I could go on and on, but I hope that what I have said inspires you to continue forward with this genre. People such as myself, look forward to our private sanctuary in the form of a historical romance book.

  8. LaDiva, YOU are a breath of fresh air. Thank you for reminding me why I started writing in the first place. I am officially inspired 🙂

  9. LaDiva says:

    I look forward to your future books. As always, a faithful fan.

Leave a Reply

