What’s so Pinterest-ing about that?

Okay, I admit it, I have succumbed to yet another social network. But I couldn’t help it. Honestly. I resisted for a long time. People would ask if I’d heard of Pinterest, and I’d respond with a vehement, “Yes, but I just don’t have time for another social internet thingy!”

And then, one night, as we sat on the couch side-by-side, my hubby pulled out his phone and started looking through the sample pics on Pinterest. “Babe, you should see this stuff! It’s so great.” And then he started showing me pictures of beautiful homes, and since we’re in the process of trying to pick out paint colors, we were both stuck on the interior design sections for a while.

Then we started to branch out…women’s apparel, kid’s stuff, travel, etc… There was so much to see! We had to get invites so we could start pinning ASAP!

So, we scored invites and at 7am the next morning, as I lay in bed waiting for the baby to wake up, I started pinning like crazy. Motivational quotes, recipes for healthy shakes, delectable looking cakes and cookies, craft ideas for the kids, etc…

What I’ve found is this: Pinterest is not an added time suck for me…it is now, basically, my *only* time suck. I hardly get onto Facebook or Twitter anymore, and there’s good reason. Facebook and Twitter are timelines of people’s lives, and sometimes, those lives suck. Or sometimes people post their opinions on certain matters and even though I know everyone is entitled to their own opinion, I can’t help but get annoyed or fired up about it. Sometimes people report on horrible news or they ruin TV shows before you’ve had a chance to watch them. There are lots of reasons why FB and Twitter can be negative time sucks.

Pinterest, on the other hand, is all happy, all the time. And that’s how I choose to live my life. That’s what I want to surround myself with…the beautiful, the inspiring, the motivational…and I’ve found those things in Pinterest.

Am I giving up on FB and Twitter altogether? No, of course not. It’s still a great way to keep in touch with people. But rest assured, I won’t be spending near as much time there as I used to. If you need me, I’ll be on Pinterest šŸ™‚

One thought on “What’s so Pinterest-ing about that?

  1. Amy says:

    Glad you joined Pinterest!!! Now that you and Er are on it, I am going to be on it more too to see what you are pinning šŸ™‚ Yay!

Leave a Reply

