Samantha Grace: Interview & Giveaway!

I am so privileged to have the incomparable Samantha Grace as  a critique partner, but even more importantly, as my friend. I know she’s swamped with blog tours and such with her new release coming up, so I asked if I could run the super fun interview we did from a couple of years ago. She said yes! So, without further ado, here’s the interview…

1)   What is the most interesting trip you have ever taken?

I traveled to Zambia in 1991 to visit my mother who was living there at the time. I stayed for nine weeks. I learned a lot from that trip, some things I didn’t realize until later. I loved submersing myself in a different culture with a slower pace than America. I developed an appreciation for the wealth of our nation, and I learned a lesson in humility and generosity. I had brought gifts with me to give to the people who worked at my family’s home. Toward the end of my stay, the lady who cleaned the house gave me a duck as a show of friendship. My gifts were nothing of great value, trinkets really, but this gift could feed her family when they had very little for themselves. I’m still in awe of this woman’s beautiful soul. This experience inspired me to give unconditionally when I give and to become a kinder person. And the overall experience helped me better focus on what I really need in my life (the basics of survival, family, friends, love and purpose) versus what popular culture tells me I need.

2)   What is the funniest thing you have ever experienced?

This is very hard to answer, because I find humor in everyday life. I think my brain is hardwired for comedy. Nevertheless, the best stories are when I can laugh at myself, like the time I grabbed my new work cell phone from my van on a Monday morning with the intention of programming numbers into it. Low and behold, there were numbers already programmed into the directory. How odd, I thought, and proceeded to delete them. That is until I came across my brother-in-law’s number and then my husband’s. Finally, I saw the name of my friend’s mother-in-law. Aha! I figured it out and I must say, “How clever.” I called my friend. “Well, it’s the weirdest thing. I got a new work cell phone and it has such and such numbers in it. Did you turn in a phone to US Cellular?” She said, “No, but I left my phone in your van yesterday.” Total forehead slapping moment. You’d think I’d be too embarrassed to tell anyone, but it was hilarious. I couldn’t help myself.

3)   Who is your favorite author and why?

There are many great writers, and Wally Lamb is one of my favorites. He is a phenomenal writer with great insight into characters, and he weaves intricate plots that fit together beautifully. Mr. Lamb inspires me.

4)     If you could be any character in fiction, who would you be?

I would be Marianne Dashwood from Sense and Sensibility. Even though Willoughby hurts her in the end, I admire her willingness to risk it all for a chance at great happiness. Then she opens herself up again, allows Colonel Brandon to love her, and finds an alternate route to happiness, less exciting, but solid and satisfying all the same.

5)     If you were a can of soup, what variety would you be?

I love this question. Alphabet Soup? I am a writer, after all.

If you know what’s good for you, you’ll rush right out and get Lady Amelia’s Mess and a Half , book 2 in her Beau Monde Bachelor series (currently on pre-order, but official release is this Tuesday, June 5!) Here’s the blurb from the back jacket cover…

JAKE BROKE HER HEART BY LEAVING HER AFTER SHARING A PASSIONATE KISS.

LADY AMELIA BROKE HIS BY MARRYING HIS BEST FRIEND.

When she returns to town a widow—pursued by an infamous rake, Jake’s debauched brother, and just maybe by himself—Lady Amelia will have a mess and a half on her hands.

A sparkling romp through the ton, Lady Amelia’s Mess and a Half delivers a witty Regency romance in which misunderstandings abound, reputations are put on the line, and the only thing more exciting than a scandal is true love.

Thanks for letting me run the interview again, Samantha…and best of luck on the new release!! 🙂

GIVEAWAY!

One lucky commenter will receive free copies of both Samantha’s Lady Amelia’s Mess and Half, as well as a copy of my newest release, The Gypsy Bride!

Please make sure you visit Samantha on the web:

15 thoughts on “Samantha Grace: Interview & Giveaway!

  1. countessofmar says:

    Sam & Jerrica- this was fun to read. I like the soup comment.

  2. Thanks for stopping by, my lady 😉 Glad you enjoyed the interview!

  3. eli yanti says:

    Hi Jerrica 🙂

    Hi Samatha,
    congrats on the new release, love the cover of Lady Amelia’s
    Mess and Half, because Paul Marron *lol

  4. Diane P. Diamond says:

    Thank you for such a very interesting interview. I love Samantha’s books, and I’d dearly love to win this one, especially as it has Paul Marron on the cover. He is really quite delicious. I’d also love to read your new book “The Gypsy Bride”. You’re a new Author to me Jerrica, and I really love finding new Authors. 🙂

    Thank you for hosting such a generous contest.

  5. Ora says:

    I really enjoyed reading your debut and can’t wait for this one. I love the cover of your books. Such hot sexy men on them.

  6. Hi, Eli! The cover alone is worth it, right? 😉
    Thanks so much for stopping by and good luck in the drawing.

  7. Diane,
    I think you’ll enjoy Jerrica’s books. She writes great escape books, and I feel like I’m on vacation when I read her work. Plus, she’s funny. 🙂

  8. Ora,
    Thank you! I’m so glad you enjoyed Miss Hillary. I had a lot of fun writing it. Sourcebooks has definitely done right by me in the hot sexy men department. 😀

  9. Sharlen Wegner says:

    I am somewhat of a newbie to historical romance, but loving it! I loved Sense & Sensibility, but I would relate more to Elinor. I just love when Edward comes back & she thinks he is married & finds out he isn’t. Good luck with the new book! Sounds like something I would definately like!

  10. Sheila M says:

    Really love Samantha, haven’t read anything by Jerrica, but looking forward to her.

  11. Sharlen,
    I loved the relationship between Elinor and Edward, too. It is one of my favorite books. Thank you for the well wishes. I really appreciate it. 🙂

  12. Aw thanks, Sheila. That’s really sweet. 🙂

  13. lilmissmolly says:

    Sounds fabulous! I have one of your books and loved it! Can’t wait to read this one too!

  14. sandy says:

    Don’t think I’ve read any of your books yet…but these sound great!

  15. C. Lani says:

    Hi samantha, im lookin forward to read your book, cause its sounds great… and many thanks for this giveaway.

Leave a Reply

