Gretna Green

I came to a point in my new WIP yesterday where I needed some resources on anvil weddings at Gretna Green. When you type “Gretna Green” or “Anvil Weddings” into Google, you get the Wikipedia listing, along with a ton of hotels that want you to come and have a wedding with them now. Not 200 years ago.

So, of course, I went to my trusted writing group and asked if anybody had any good resources for my research. The fantastic Aileen Fish came back with the most amazing link! It’s to a book that you can read right online for free called The Gretna Green Memoirs by Robert Elliot. If you’re a history buff like me, you won’t be able to put this book down. Tale after tale of real couples running away to Gretna Green, and all the drama that surrounds it. Not even the writers on Desperate Housewives could have come up with this much drama.

Admittedly, I’m still only a few stories in, so I can’t speak for the entire book…but so far, it’s been pretty riveting. Possibly my favorite piece of research ever!

Get the book here: The Gretna Green Memoirs by Robert Elliot

Leave a Reply

