Turkey Day Approacheth

So, normally I’d already be talking Christmas over here, but, well, I live in Florida now, and the season changes are less obvious. Usually, with the first hint of winter, I drag out all the winter clothes, crank up the Johnny Mathis Christmas album and start shopping online for Christmas presents. But since the weather is only slightly chilly, with plenty of warm beach days interspersed, I’m taking things slower this year. I’m savoring each holiday as it comes, and loving every minute!

I’m always very mindful of gratitude in my life. Five years ago, I discovered just how important it was to find gratitude in every situation, no matter how trying or difficult. Gratitude is the only thing that will get rid of fear, anxiety, guilt…all those negative emotions that especially tend to build up around the holiday season.

With Thanksgiving approaching, I’m being even more mindful. Or at least more outward about my daily gratitude. A lot of people are, actually. Check out Facebook, and you’ll see a good many posts titled “Daily Gratitude” with the date next to it. I decided to join the fray and start posting mine too. It’s a great way for me to remember to give thanks, and I think it’s a nice reminder for those who read it to also give thanks in their own lives.

I think the biggest thing I’m grateful for this November is the safety of all our friends in the Northeast corridor who were affected by Hurricane Sandy. There was lots of flooding, loss of things that held precious memories and inconveniences from loss of power, heat and hot water. But everyone was safe, and one of my best friends even gave birth to a precious baby boy this last Sunday night. Yet another reason to be grateful!

What about you? Are you taking the time to give thanks this season for all the wonderful things in your life? Is there something you’re especially grateful for this year? Share with me and keep the gratitude flowing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

