Twelve Days of Christmas: Samantha Grace

Banana Pancakes

by Samantha Grace

One of the things I love about being a parent is being in charge of creating happy memories for our kids. I think observing tradition gives everyone a stronger sense of who we are and where we belong. We carry it with us all our lives. The traditions my husband and I observe with our kids are a mix of things from our childhood and new things we wanted to try.

Two of the kids’ favorite traditions are opening one gift on Christmas Eve and banana pancakes on Christmas morning. They love banana pancakes so much they request them year round, but Christmas morning they are a must. (One of my favorite traditions is getting the kids a new ornament every year, and when they have their own homes, they can have the ornaments for their trees.)

The first year I made banana pancakes, I used the recipe out of Sheila Lukins’s All Around the World Cookbook. Now I’ve modified the recipe using a mix to get the pancakes on the table quicker, but her recipe really is superior.

Banana Pancakes

2 cups Krusteaz pancake mix

1 1/3 cups water

¼ cup light brown sugar

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

½ teaspoon cinnamon

2-3 mashed ripe bananas

Combine the pancake mix and water with a whisk. Add brown sugar, vanilla, and cinnamon. Fold in mashed bananas. Grease the griddle with a little vegetable oil.  Pour about ¼ cup of batter on the hot griddle, cook until the edges start to look golden, and flip.

I serve Little Smokies with the pancakes Christmas morning. I figure once a year isn’t bad.

 Twice Upon a Time:Summons Duke

Since her father’s untimely death, Felicity Halliday has relied on the medical knowledge learned at his side to treat London’s most disreputable in order to support her family.  Life has been hard, but everything changes the night she is snatched from an alley behind a theatre and tossed into a nobleman’s carriage. 

It has been less than a fortnight since Julian Beckford returned to London after a sojourn in India, and he’s already up to his top-boots in one of his cousin’s mad schemes. When his foolish cousin decides to engage an actress to play his wife over the holidays at Danby Castle, Julian becomes an unwilling party to the lady’s abduction. Along their journey to Yorkshire, Julian makes a stunning discovery about his cousin’s pretend wife and finds it’s possible to love Twice Upon a Time.

Available NOW at these major retailers…
Amazon
Barnes & Noble
Smashwords

ABMChristmasA Beau Monde Bachelor Christmas:

Join newlywed couples Lord and Lady Norwick, Jake and Amelia Hillary, Daniel and Lisette Hillary, and Isaac and Serafine Tucker for their first Christmas together.

Bibi, the Countess of Norwick, would love to give her husband the one thing he really wants for Christmas: a ceasefire between her and his intractable sister. Facing Lady Troll during the holidays without reinforcements, however, would be foolish, and Bibi is no fool. She calls upon her dearest friends, Amelia and Jake Hillary, and a few more familiar faces to spend Christmas in Kent to help make the season a little brighter. Unfortunately, her guests are distracted by their own challenges this holiday season, and Bibi must find a way to connect with her sister-in-law without their help if she hopes to make Jasper’s Christmas wishes come true.

 

To access A Beau Monde Bachelor Christmas, sign up for Samantha’s newsletter group. http://www.samanthagraceauthor.com.

I love to hear from readers, so if you would like to connect with me, you can find me at the following places:

Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Lady Scribes

Leave a comment for Samantha and be entered to win a

$25 gift card to the book seller of your choice!

13 thoughts on “Twelve Days of Christmas: Samantha Grace

  1. Melody May says:

    Hey Sam,
    I get my kids an ornament. I love picking out an ornament for each kid that represent something special about them. So, I have been re-reading the summons and I have notice the stuff I missed and the stuff oh yeah. It’s been fun.

  2. Misty Helm says:

    Hey Samantha, I have bought my mom a new tree ornament since I was ten. About six or seven years ago she started on this quest to give each of our animals their own ornament, some of those pets are long gone and yet every year she hangs them on the tree. It was last year when I noticed that her grandchildren have their own names hanging on her tree and all of our pets have had theirs as well, however her own children do not have a tree ornament! This year I have bought an ornament for her with mine and my brother’s names on it so that we can finally be on the tree.

  3. Hi, Melody! Now you’ve piqued my interest. I had to know what you missed the first time. LOL

    I love picking out the ornaments, too. If I could just find a smelling sweatshirt for me son, that would be awesome! 😉

  4. Misty,
    What a sweet tradition! And what’s up with you and your brother being omitted? LOL

  5. I also try to buy an ornament each year for the kids. This year my son got one that signified him getting his driver’s license and my daughter got one with a clarinet. They seem to enjoy receiving them and look forward to putting “their” ornaments on the tree each year. I’m going to have to try your banana pancakes – they sound delicious!

  6. Samantha, I love the ornament tradition! My mom’s been doing that for 43 years — ever since the year my sister was born. It’s so fun to see those ornaments on the tree that have so much meaning and so many memories behind them.

    As for the banana pancakes, I may just have to give them a try! They sound delicious! 🙂

    Thanks so much for being my guest today!

  7. Misty Helm says:

    I’m not sure Sam but my mom also hasn’t carried our pictures in her wallet in years and yet she has professional shots of the dogs lol.

  8. Dana,
    I can’t believe your son is driving. Yikes! I guess I better prepare myself, because we’re not far behind.

    I love getting out the ornaments and reminiscing, too. I see really beautiful trees sometimes, and I think they’re great, but ours is filled with memories. Homemade ornaments from the kids, the ones they’ve received as gifts, ones I’VE received as b-day gifts, ones we received our first year of marriage… Nothing beats that, IMO.

  9. Jerrica,
    It’s great to be here today! Thanks for the invite. 🙂

    Do you give Bella ornaments for Christmas, too?

  10. Misty,
    That just made me snort!

  11. Yes, we do! Actually, now everyone gets everyone an ornament, so each person usually ends up with 3 or 4 ornaments at the end of the day. LOL!

  12. LOL. You’ll have to get more trees for all those ornaments!

  13. Misty Helm says:

    It makes everyone laugh.

Leave a Reply

