The Healthy Writer

I’m sure I’ve covered this subject before, or if not, many, many other authors have definitely covered it. But I still think it bears repeating, especially since I tend to fall back into unhealthy habits sometimes. I’m sure we all do, but here’s a little bit about my journey recently. Because, oddly enough, I didn’t fall into any unhealthy habits! Rather, I fell into very healthy ones. Unfortunately, “healthy” rarely means “low calorie.”

Smoothies/Juices:

I LOVE my green drinks! Smoothies with kale, spinach and a little fruit? YUM! Green juices that taste a little like dirt? Bring it on! Not only do I love the taste, but they’re a shot of life, I tell you! After a green juice, I can feel the blood coursing through my veins. My eyes dilate and feel so big and round, like I’m a vampire with super vision. All my sense are heightened, it’s almost like a drug. But a drug that’s good for me! A drug that, when taken, repairs the cells in my body and brings me closer to my natural state. How could I NOT love these miracle drinks?

However, there’s a downside here. Green drinks/smoothies still have calories. And sugar. Though naturally occurring sugar, it’s still sugar. And if you’re trying to lose weight, you need to be very aware of this. I’m almost always trying to lose weight, and I went a couple months drinking my fill of smoothies/juices, trying to figure out why I wasn’t losing. In fact, I was gaining!

Enter MyFitnessPal.com…

You’re telling me that my 24oz green drink with spinach, carrots, ginger and apples is 150 calories? It may not seem like a lot, but when you’re supposed to be on a net-1200 calorie diet, it is. That counts for a hearty snack just on its own. But it’s not always filling, so I was having other snacks alongside it. Which leads me to the next section…

Snacks:

Now, we, as a family, have cut out almost all processed foods. We eat mostly organic and/or local when we can get it. So the days of the Nabisco 100 Calorie snack packs are long gone. No more chemicals, fillers, GMOs, etc… for us. No way! We’re too educated about food now to want to put that stuff into our bodies.

So we turned to things like nuts, seeds, or a combination of both in the form of Kind Bars. All natural, gluten free, made of nuts, seeds, dried fruits and cane sugar, they are a delicious afternoon snack.

But here we go again…obviously, these little snack bars are going to be loaded with calories! 180, to be exact (although the chocolate ones are a little more) And it’s easy to say, “Oh, I had a juice and a bar for my snacks today, so I can go a little hog wild at dinner!”, and before you know it, you’ve blown so far past your calorie count, you can’t even SEE that net-1200 mark anymore.

Enter exercise…

I find it incredibly strange that as soon as we moved to Florida, I decided to stop working out. I don’t know what my problem was. But ask my hubby–he could NOT get me to the gym. I mean, maybe once a week, and for this chick who used to workout at least 3-4 times a week consistently for years, that was heinous. Oh, and that one workout usually consisted of a leisurely walk on the treadmill and maybe a few bicep reps. Not nearly enough to burn off all those extra juice and Kind Bar calories.
 
So this is really how MyFitnessPal.com has changed my life…
 
Last week, after a short trip up north, I returned to Florida with a new mission. It was time to get serious. No more messing around. Eric suggested I take a look at MyFitnessPal, as it integrated with my FitBit and my FitBit scale. I took a look and realized it was basically Weight Watchers but FREE! What?!?! I can track every calorie in (they have a HUGE database of food) and every calorie out (my FitBit automatically reports my activity to the iPhone app!!!)
 
I’m so much more aware of what I’m eating now, though I’m not depriving myself in anyway. I eat real food, and when it looks like I’m going to go over for the day, I get off the couch and do a workout video or go for a walk to gain more points.
 
Tomorrow I’ll share some of my favorite lo-cal, real food, snacks and meals with you, but for now, here’s the before and the after. And this is just after one week! I’m down 3.6lbs, which might not sound like a lot, but considering all the fitness I’ve added in, I know I’m also gaining muscle and toning down…
 
Before…
Image
 
 
 
After…
Image
 
Check back tomorrow for some of my tasty recipes!
2 thoughts on “The Healthy Writer

  1. Sounds like you’ve got a winning plan – good luck with it!

Leave a Reply

