Before & Afters: Weight Loss

One of my favorite things in the whole world has always been Before & Afters. I love a good makeover, on me or anyone else. I love to see drastic weight loss or haircuts or Plain Janes transform into Glamor Girls.

When I entered into the retail market many, many years ago as a means to support myself as an actress, I sought out cosmetic stores so I could get paid to do makeovers and make people look their best. I loved it…well, the makeover part at least. The selling, restocking, cleaning, etc…I could have done without.

I also ventured into wedding makeup, turning my husband’s future step-mother, in addition to a good friend of ours, into blushing brides with flawless makeup.

But mostly, I just like to make myself over. I love to play with makeup, different colors, different looks. I don’t have as much time to do that these days, but it’s always fun when I do. And when I go to get my hair cut, I always take before and after photos, sometimes stopping off at Sephora to make the transformation even more dramatic…

ImageImage

ย 

See? The uglier the before, the better, right?? ๐Ÿ™‚

But the biggest transformations I’ve undergone in my life have always been in the field of weight loss. I’ve yo-yo’d since I was a young girl, the fat girl in me always fighting the healthy, fit girl in me. Then I got pregnant and gained 35lbs, lost the 35, gained 15 back, and now I’ve lost 12 of that. So I’m *almost* back to where I started. Though I still have another 10-15 I’d like to lose, I’m really happy where I am, but most of all, I’m happy with the major overhaul my diet has undergone. No more processed foods in this house! We eat gluten free most of the time, mostly organic and local (when we can), and we strive to fill our bodies with good, wholesome foods. That’s probably been the biggest challenge this time around. In the past, I’ve lost weight by switching to diet soda, splenda, eating 100 Calorie Snack Packs, and other “diet” foods. But learning to eat REAL foods has been eye opening! Not to mention, I’m the healthiest I’ve ever been in my life! No headaches, no blood sugar crashes, no anxiety or depression (yes, diet plays a HUGE role in those things!)

And I have to give a big shout out to the makers of MyFitnessPal, without which, I wouldn’t know how much of the real foods I could eat! Ha! So, without further ado, here I am…in my swimsuits…before (February) and after (April)…

Image

And yes, I’ve had to cut out those giant, fruity island drinks to achieve the look on the right. But I still enjoy wine and beer here and there (clearly, I didn’t cut out ALL booze! lol), and I almost always leave room for something sweet, like dark chocolate or a few bites of cheesecake.

How about you? Do you love makeovers like I do? Have you undergone any major transformations in your own life? I’d love to hear about it!

7 thoughts on “Before & Afters: Weight Loss

  1. Lily George says:

    You look fabulous! Congrats on all your hard work. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Cole says:

    Hey! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be ok. I’m definitely enjoying your blog and look forward
    to new updates.

  3. Bianca says:

    You look amazing!! I’m assuming I am the “good friend” whose wedding makeup you did? YAY!

  4. Thanks, Lily! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I’m on Twitter as JerricaKC ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Melody May says:

    Wow! You look like a hot mama!

Leave a Reply

